Texas Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made this for my daycare kids lunch and they loved it!! I thought it was great! Very easy and fast. Changes I made: Used long grain white rice (not instant), half an onion, 2 red mini sweet bell peppers, added 1 clove garlic chopped, 1 can diced tomatoes with mild green chilies, grated cheddar cheese on top. This is a meal that my husband will love so I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
We just got done eating this so I thought I'd write a quick review. This was pretty good with the changes I made based on other reviews. I added a large clove of garlic, minced, a can of drained black beans, and a large red pepper instead of green. I used the full 2 tablespoons of chili powder, and did NOT drain the diced tomatoes. Maybe the person who said the result was soupy didn't drain the grease out after browning the ground beef with the peppers and onions. I used plenty of salt and pepper but still think next time I make it I will add some worchestershire sauce. Don't get me wrong, it was more then edible; my son had 2 helpings! It just could have used a touch more zip. Thanks for a good base recipe...an update 11/12/08: If you are using a good brand of chili powder, you may want to cut back to one tablespoon...the first few times I made this I used "bargain" chili powder (.99)and 2 tablespoons was fine...this last time I used McCormick's and 2 tablespoons made it a little too spicy for us. Oh, also, I used muenster cheese, because that's what I had, now THAT was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was great! We all loved it. I doubled the bell pepper, used brown rice instead of instant white and shredded cheddar instead of processed American, and I also added Tabasco and Worcestershire for some spice. Definitely a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Everyone in my family loved this when I served it for dinner last night! I have to please picky eaters ages 6 to 60 so that says alot! Made it again & added a can of black beans - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
We absolutely loved this. I made it to recipe and added a small can chopped green chilis. Served with corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is a simple, easy, quick dinner and my kids loved it. The only thing I did differently was I added black beans and 2 cloves of garlic. I also added a packet of mild Chili seasoning because I felt it was a little bland. Instead of sliced cheese I used a fiesta blend cheese in a bag and sprinkled it liberally over the casserole. Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I thought this was a little bland. I did only use 1 Tbsp chili powder, for the kids' sake, but I could probably have used the 2 the recipe calls for. The flavor was very tomatoey and the meat didn't have much taste. I will probably make this again, but next time I'll add garlic salt and maybe some celery other veggie to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was very good. I made this a lot easier though. Bought diced tomatoes with green pepper already in them. Only needed to use 1 pan as well. Brown ground beef and drain. Add all ingredients, including uncooked rice. Simmer covered for 15-20 minutes. Put cheese slices on top and they melt just fine. Rice will also be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed recipe except I used chopped celery instead of bell pepper..Excellent, quick entree...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is really good. I'm giving it five stars based on some simple, basic changes. I read other reviews about it being bland, so I sauteed some minced garlic. I added a can of chili beans (others suggested black beans, but I didn't have any), & a few dashes of worchestershire. I substituted jasmine rice for instant and used yellow and orange peppers instead of green. The rest of the ingredients were the same, except I only added 1 T chili powder because I included the liquid with the chili beans. I think I made too much rice because I needed a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce when others thought it was soupy - mine was too dry. I will make this again!!! Kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States