Texas German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is a pretty good salad. Unfortunately I missed the part about reserving the bacon grease and had disposed of it. I also added some fresh dill, salt and freshly ground black pepper. Thank you Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i was pretty happy with this dish. however, i had to make some adjustments for my family. my kids dont like a lot of onion, so i reduced that by half. same with the eggs. it went over pretty well with the family... it had some what of an after taste though. i dont know if thats because of the italian seasonings or what. maybe it was just my taste buds! :] might make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This recipe was a total hit with my family gathering last week. I think what you need to keep in mind is the recipe doesn't claim to be "authentic", it's very simple, yet the flavor is definitely NOT your ordinary potato salad. I'm making this again this afternoon for a burger and sausage bbq and I can assure you, they'll be no leftovers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this the night before I served it. Everyone raved about it. It was so different from the regular old potato salad. Reminded me of one I had years ago that was made with dill pickles and have tried to duplicate with no success Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I made it by the recipe except I left out the bacon drippings. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
While I am not sure I would call this a "German" potato salad, we liked it. I didn't fry bacon, just used the pre-packaged stuff, so I didn't have any bacon grease. I also left out the eggs. Next time I will probably add more olives because I REALLy like what they added to the dish. Thanks for a different potato salad recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
A really delicious dish. I used only 1 cup of light sour cream and just a tablespoon of the bacon drippings and it was plenty of rich dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We liked this! The only thing I think, is next time I will use more mayo and less sour cream. I am a fan of both, but I felt the sour cream gave it more of a 'flat' flavor. On the upside, we loved the addition of the green olives and bacon is ALWAYS a winner in our house, lol. I did also need to add salt, but that's our preference. I would make this again, but with my changes! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, used organic red potatoes, used half a package of turkey bacon, a mixture of fat free plain yogurt and fat free sour cream, omitted the green olives because I didn't have any and used half a recipe of Scotdog's dry ranch dressing mix. After I had my older boy taste it, he said "it needs pickles, Mom", so I added a couple chopped large garlic dills. Even cutting it down, my three boys inhaled it. No leftovers. I had one bite and I thought it was pretty tasty, even lowfat. My husband even asked me "Are you SURE it's lowfat". LAWLZ, that was a riot. See, good food can be lowfat and not kill you. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Love this recipe! I make it for parties, BBQ's, a side dish to bring to the neighbors house...you name it. People always ask me for the recipe. I'm starting to feel a little protective of it...like a hidden jewel. Sometimes I forget to reserve the bacon grease. Sometimes I add an extra boiled egg. Makes no difference. I've never liked potato salad but this one I can just sit with a bowl and a spoon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States