Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Marginally better than canned. But much easier than cooking my own tomato sauce. Good for weeknight meals when I don't want to spend much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
to thick and a little too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So much better than canned enchilada sauce. Worth the extra work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Loved the sauce. I am from Texas and use many different recipes for Mexican/Tex-Mex. My friend is hispanic and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent! Due to the fact I did not have any crushed tomatoes, I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes chopped in my mini chopper till they had the consistancy of crushed. I also used 1 10oz can of tomatoes and green chilies (my husband and I love heat in our foods). It added a great kick, but still had abundant flavor. I also sauted the onion in extra virgin olive oil instead of butter for I'm not a big fan of butter. This recipe was delicious and made alot. Thank-you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickofy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was a great change from our regular enchiladas. I usually use store bought enchilada sauce. It was sweet and more of a tomato flavor than we are used to. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I thought this was good! Not sure why I don't want to give it five stars, but didn't quite seem 5 to me. Would have given it 4 1/2 if I could have. I made it with diced tomatoes (1 regular and 1 can red pepper & fennel). I put it all in my food processor to blend it and smooth out the tomatoes. I added the sauteed onion, green pepper and garlic to the tomatoes, sauce and spices in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good and simple to make. The only modification I made was running it through the blender so the kiddos wouldn't fuss about the chunks of tomato. I used this as a substitute to the packaged sauce call for in the Beef Enchilada II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious! I forgot to purchase my green enchilada sauce and had to make my own, so I tried this one and ....WOW....YUMM! Will not be purchasing my green sauce anymore, this one was so easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I just love this recipe! I made a few tweaks like reduce the chili powder to 2 Tbl. I also saute the onions, garlic and bellpepper first and then throw everything else in the pot. I run it through the blender to make it kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States