Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I think this recipe turns out great... if you use a bit less chili powder than it calls for. I use about 1/8 cup. I also sometimes leave out the onion and bell pepper and I havent noticed a difference either way. Goes great with Chicken Enchiladas I from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I used this recipe as a sauce for homemade tamales. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUGMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Perfect! My son has a catering business and likes to make his food from scratch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is the first time I made enchilada sauce and it was absolutely delicious. I had a few friends over and they all raved about it. It is also very simple to make and give you that authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was not very impressed with this recipe. I was quite disappointed because it had pretty good reviews. Way too much chili powder and I used less than 1/4 of a cup. Also not the good spicy flavour that mexican food should have. Anyway will most likely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great stuff. I added a pinch of cinnamon, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Easy and yummy enchilada sauce! I thought it had just the right amount of spice and flavor. The only thing I changed was I substituted olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
The flavor is wonderful, but I want an enchilada sauce that is thinner, saucier, like the kind on restaurant enchiladas. Next time I will either use two cans tomato sauce in place of the crushed tomatoes or thin it out with broth. Also, I used 1/4 cup chili powder because I didnt want the heat to be overpowering, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was great, and no more trouble then using a packet from the store. Freezes well also. Thanks, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States