Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe tastes better than the ones you get at restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The best enchilada sauce I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystaldanae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was wonderful, but only after some modifications, thus the 4 star rating. Substituted one can of tomato sauce for one can of beef broth to thin out the sauce and make it less "tomatoey". It was just the right thickness then, and the way most restaurants serve it. Also, I sauteed the onions and bell pepper (chopped in large chunks) together and then added the rest of the sauce ingredients. I used garlic powder instead of minced garlic and added a little more salt then stated. I simmered the sauce for 20 min., then to make my enchiladas, I turned the heat down low and dipped my corn tortillas in the sauce as I made them. I then covered my enchiladas with the sauce and smothered everything with shredded cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
4 stars for the recipe as is. It has a nice mild to medium heat to it. I did put a little over 1/2 of the sauce in a blender (our son wont eat it if its "chuncky") to smooth it out. I made chicken enchilada's (1/2 with smooth mix, 1/2 with chuncky) and I used the rest of the smooth sauce to put on top while baking. Next time I think I'll use jalapeno's and chile's instead of a green pepper and add some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grill Daddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Fabulous flavor! I like Mexican food mild to medium heat, and so I cut the chili powder in half. That was the perfect heat for my family. I also added some extra salt. Yummy with my favorite bean and cheese enchilada recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. In my opinion, for a REAL enchilada sause you use cream and/or a good broth, not tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Makes delicious enchiladas....a few suggestions....reduce chili powder to 1/4 cup, add diced jalapeno when you add the onions, replace 28 oz can tomatoes with one can of rotel and one can of petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was my first attempt at making enchilada sauce and it was awesome! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I needed sauce for my hot dish for which I normally buy a can of enchilada sauce. I am glad I decided to search for a homemade recipe and am glad I came across this one. I did however cut the ingredients in half and altered some. Here is what I used as well as the rest of my beef enchilada hotdish recipe. First brown 1 lb hamburger using a packet of taco seasoning, use instructions on the package. Set aside. Heat 1 can of refried beans. Set aside. You will need 6 tortillas. 2 cups of shredded cheese (a bag) Now make the recipe for the sauce. * 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce * 1 (16 ounce) can crushed tomatoes not drained * 3 tablespoons of chili powder * 1/2 tablespoon dried oregano * 1/2 teaspoon paprika * 1 teaspoons ground cumin * 1 teaspoons ground black pepper * 1/4 teaspoon salt * 1 tablespoon of garlic powder * 1 tablespoon of onion powder Boil and simmer for 15 minutes. While this is simmering, prepare the hotdish. Spray a 9x12 pan with pam and then place 6-8 flour tortillas folded in half, ready to fill. In each tortilla layer with refried beans, handful of cheese, taco meat, 2 large tablespoons full of enchilada sauce. Fold each tortilla like you would a taco. Pour remaining enchilada sauce and cheese over the top. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until the cheese melts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was pretty good, however next time I will tweak it a bit. I didn't find it all that spicy so I will add some chiles or something. I would also lessen the crushed tomatoes as I found this made it too thick. A great base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States