Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I won't buy canned sauce anymore. We actually made this to pour over burritos. I can't wait to try it with enchiladas soon! We left out the onions and bell peppers and still tasted great. Didn't want chunky sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I must have done something terribly wrong, this turned out to taste like a metallic tomato....maybe I cooked it in the wrong type of pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRosenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My first time making this enchilada sauce was a big success! I may add more chipotle for a little extra zing next time, but you can bet I'll be making it again very soon. I suggest doubling or tripling the recipe and making it ahead and freezing if you're going to be using it in other recipes. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My new enchilda sauce!!! Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I changed servings to 4. I used 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes crushed in processor, 3T chili powder, 1T oregano, 1/2t cumen, 1t pepper, 1/2t salt, pinch of cinnamon, 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 onion and 1/2 green pepper. I followed directions then mixed 1/2 sauce with 1 shredded chicken breast and 3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Heated 2 corn tortillas in damp paper towel in micro. Put 2 heaping T down center of tortilla and rolled. Placed seam side down in sprayed dish. I made 6 fat enchiladas. Poured rest of sauce over. Topped with 3/4 cup cheese. Put on dish lid, Baked 350 for 25 min. This was outstanding! Might reduce chili powder to 2T next time. Might saute gn. pepper with onion in olive oil. This makes plenty of sauce. I could have stretched it to make 12 enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was a great sauce and simple to make. I cut the onions and peppers into big chunks and sauteed then added the other ingredients then pureed it with an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I thought this sauce was excellent and not difficult to make. I skipped the baking step and just rolled up chicken stuffing in corn tortillas and splashed the sauce on top. I let everything soak for a minute and then served with cheese on the side. It is great for those with dairy allergies in the family. This way the little one could eat the chicken and tortillas and the rest of us could still enjoy the cheese. I served with guacamole and Best Black Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
salty almost to being bitter (jayson);blended onions and green peeper and sautéed with garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was my first atempt making enchilada sauce and I don't think I can ever use the sauce from the store again. I only omitted green bell pepper because I didn't have any. Very easy to make and tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe tastes better than the ones you get at restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States