Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I thought this was good, but it was too spicy for my 3 & 5 year olds. Easy to change up the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Cutting this down to three servings made just enough for one pan of enchiladas. I used organic tomato sauce, fire-roasted tomatoes, california chili pepper, doubled all the spices, used four cloves garlic and added about a half cup of diced organic cilantro. This was a bit thick, so I added about a cup of V-8. I think next time, I might puree it, for a thinner consistancy. I always am taken aback by the quality of homemade ingredients over canned and this was no exception. Using organic ingredients just took it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is exactly what we were looking for in an "authenic" tasting enchilada sauce! It made a ton - had a lot left over. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great reicpe! I double it and throw all the ingredients in the crockpot (minus the butter). Cooks on low while we're at work. We add more kick with a jalepeno or habenero pepper(s) as well. I use a handblender if I find it too chunky, and freeze the leftovers for another time. Just a note...You don't need to add salt if using canned tomtoes/sauce, and you can really reduce the sodium with salt-free canned tomatoes and sauce, without affecting the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was great - I've been looking for an enchilada sauce recipe and this sounded easy and based on the reviews it seemed it would be a success. I normally follow recipe's to a "T" the first go around, however, all I had was a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, so I pureed them in my blender and then followed the recipe as written. Incredibly easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANGININTHERE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
VERY tasty!!! Have made it 2 nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This sauce was really good. This was my first time making enchiladas and my children can be picky so I really wasn't sure what recipe to go with. I'm glad I went with this one, we all gobbled it up. I just cut back on the chili powder a good bit and used pureed tomatoes instead of crushed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamachef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is really really good! I have made it twice now and love it. I use half for enchiladas and the other half I put in the crock pot with raw ck breast and cook several hours until chicken shreds easily. We eat it like tacos on corn tortillas, or my fav is the ck on top of a crispy corn tortilla with a hard fried egg on it for breakfast. Sprinkled with feta cheese and avocado slices it is just like a dish I had a brunch at the Four Seasons in Dallas, TX. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Last fall - when the tomato crop was overwhelming me - I tried this recipe to use some of them. I substituted 41 ounces of chopped (then slightly drained), fresh tomatoes that I pureed in the blender in lieu of the tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes. I canned it in pint jars, and it freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Good stuff! I didn't have the onion so I couldn't put that in but everything else went in and it turned out great!! (Although I did decrease the amount of chili powder due to my grandma not liking that particular spice very well). It made my enchiladas taste great!! Definitely be using this recipe again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States