Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Exactly what enchilada sauce should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alwaysbeachbound

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Good, but overpowering for me. I also thought it was too thick, maybe I should add a bit of water or more tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I couldn't believe how much better my enchiladas tasted using this sauce versus the kind from the can. I made enough to make three batches of enchiladas, and just froze the extra servings for the next time I needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This beats anything out of a can any day! Once you use this, you won't go for the canned stuff again. This recipe makes a lot and it freezes really well, too. I just pour any extra into zip lock bags and pop them in the freezer. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
nice, i read all the reviews and used both onion and bell pepper bc my family loves those flavors. i agree it was a bit too thick but didn't bother to put it in the blender. my mexican husband told me it tasted delicious but "white" and if i'm honest - it was really labor intensive and probably a bit more expensive than buying a $3 can of Las Palmas. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used this sauce when i made spinach enchiladas. It went really well together. I think I would use a bit less salt next time though. A bit messy (make sure that lid's on tight!) but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really enjoyed it, but my husband complained that it was a bit too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
It was amazing. I thought it would be too spicy with that much chili powder but over the tamales and with some sour cream it was perfect. I left out the green peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was my first attempt at enchilada sauce and I have to say it is a keeper. I really loved this I pureed this in the blender after I finished it was incredible. I think I did cut the chili powder down to about 3 tablespoons as this was all I had on hand. You have got to try this. Bet it would be great canned for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
it was to thick and not really that spicy... sorry I'm from texas and that isn't what we use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States