Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious! I forgot to purchase my green enchilada sauce and had to make my own, so I tried this one and ....WOW....YUMM! Will not be purchasing my green sauce anymore, this one was so easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I just love this recipe! I made a few tweaks like reduce the chili powder to 2 Tbl. I also saute the onions, garlic and bellpepper first and then throw everything else in the pot. I run it through the blender to make it kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
my family just loved this recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
VERY GOOD...BETTER THAN STORE BOUGHT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I liked the nice, thick texture the crushed tomatoes gave the sauce. But for me, the flavor just didn't hit the mark. And the nice, thick texture gave the feel that this sauce was trying to decide whether it was a texmex condiment or, like a previous reviewer said, an Italian-style tomato sauce with chili powder and cumin added. Not a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe is okay. I guess if you are used to using canned enchilada sauce, this sauce is a couple of steps up. It's definately not a traditional enchilada sauce, it was more like spaghetti sauce with chile in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolamares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
6-17-11: Turned out OK with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This deserves to be the first recipe I rate on here... it was AWESOME. I made a few minimal changes due to what I had on hand: I used one 15 oz can of tomato sauce and lightly blended about 5 roma tomatoes. I did not have regular chili powder, so I used a couple teaspoons of cayenne pepper and a few splashes of tapatio (cheating a little with that). I followed the rules for everything else. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again! Chili powder is on my shopping list for next time. This was perfect, thank you!! By the way, I was eating it out of the pot ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A keeper! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLICKA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is my first review and I would not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States