Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Marginally better than canned. But much easier than cooking my own tomato sauce. Good for weeknight meals when I don't want to spend much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
to thick and a little too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So much better than canned enchilada sauce. Worth the extra work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Loved the sauce. I am from Texas and use many different recipes for Mexican/Tex-Mex. My friend is hispanic and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Excellent! Due to the fact I did not have any crushed tomatoes, I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes chopped in my mini chopper till they had the consistancy of crushed. I also used 1 10oz can of tomatoes and green chilies (my husband and I love heat in our foods). It added a great kick, but still had abundant flavor. I also sauted the onion in extra virgin olive oil instead of butter for I'm not a big fan of butter. This recipe was delicious and made alot. Thank-you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickofy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was a great change from our regular enchiladas. I usually use store bought enchilada sauce. It was sweet and more of a tomato flavor than we are used to. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I thought this was good! Not sure why I don't want to give it five stars, but didn't quite seem 5 to me. Would have given it 4 1/2 if I could have. I made it with diced tomatoes (1 regular and 1 can red pepper & fennel). I put it all in my food processor to blend it and smooth out the tomatoes. I added the sauteed onion, green pepper and garlic to the tomatoes, sauce and spices in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good and simple to make. The only modification I made was running it through the blender so the kiddos wouldn't fuss about the chunks of tomato. I used this as a substitute to the packaged sauce call for in the Beef Enchilada II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious! I forgot to purchase my green enchilada sauce and had to make my own, so I tried this one and ....WOW....YUMM! Will not be purchasing my green sauce anymore, this one was so easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I just love this recipe! I made a few tweaks like reduce the chili powder to 2 Tbl. I also saute the onions, garlic and bellpepper first and then throw everything else in the pot. I run it through the blender to make it kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States