Texas Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
his was good. I made it New Years day. Putting everything together the night berfore makes it very easy. Thisn would be an excellent and easy addition for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
We had this for Christmas morning breakfast as the poster suggested, and we really enjoyed it. It's got a different texture (something like bread pudding) from most make-ahead egg casseroles that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This was really easy and smelled wonderful as it was cooking! My husband doesn't like sausage so I used bacon instead. The bread was a little mushy for my taste, but everyone else loved it. The next time I make this, I may toast the bread before putting it in the caserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
We didn't like this very much. After a few bites both my husband and I ended up eating oatmeal for breakfast instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Other than being way too salty, it was pretty good. I would use a 4 quart dish, as the three quart just barely held with ingredients,leaving much spillage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Just made my first batch--I can tell it will be great and it sure was easy. One thing though, I could not imagine actually using a can of cheddar cheese soup, it did not sound appealing. I used cream of mushroom soup instead, and will try cream of celery next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is our new christmas tradition. Christmas eve night, i whip this up, then Christmas morning, we pop it in the oven while the kids open presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURPLEGIRAFFE69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
My husband loves this recipe! I make a different breakfast for him & his co-worker every Sunday Morning. This is their favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made a few changes by reducing the salt to 1/2 teaspoon which I felt was plenty because of all the salt in the soup. Also, after I began making this I discovered I only had 5 eggs so I reduced the milk to nearly 2 cups. I didn't make this the night before, just prepared it in a 9x13 pan and threw it in the oven. The taste wasn't bad but it wasn't outstanding either. I particularly didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I only doubled it and adjusted the cooking time accordingly. It cooked for over two hours, and it still had an "underdone" texture. I think there's too much liquid in this recipe. It definitely has promise, and we're going to tweak it a bit. The mouth-feel was just too......soft. The taste was good, we just need to dial-in the texture but cutting down on the milk a bit. Thank you for submitting this promising recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimnLyss

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States