Texas Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I have to say that these are really filling and really delicious! Toss calories aside, enjoy and pass the guacamole too! Use any white cheese, but Jack cheese or Oaxaca mexican cheese is best when you are frying them because it melts so well. Mozzerella cheese sticks work too, but let the cheese come to room temp and works great when you are baking them in the oven. I hope you all enjoy. UPDATE- Green Chilies are also known as Anaheim Green Chilies - think Ortega Brand. These can be baked. Spray them with cooking spray and bake at 325 until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These are AWESOME! I did them slightly differently due to what I had on hand (I hope you don't mind, Baking Nana)...I had some small wonton wrappers that needed using up, so I used those and decided to use chopped green chilis, as the whole ones would not have fit. I had some pepperjack on hand, so I shredded that. To assemble, I put some shreeded pepperjack and some chopped green chilis on each wonton wrapper, rolled up egg roll style and fried. These made such cute little egg rolls and they were super delicious too! I can't wait to make these again...they would make great appetizers. Thank You Baking Nana for such a different and delicious way to enjoy egg rolls! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
super easy, really good. i could not find any whole canned chilies, so i bought 6 anaheim chilies and roasted them to soften and peeled and removed seeds after cooling. proceeded as written from then with recipe. served with salsa instead of guacamole.forgot to mention i used pepperjack becuse that is what i had on hand it worked great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So so sooo good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I got this recipe from Baking Nana on the Recipe Exchange before it was published. Here's my review from her personal recipe page: AWESOME! These are SO good!! I couldn't find a small package of regular jack cheese and didn't have enough moolah for the big pack, so I used pepper jack instead. I had a large can of chiles, so I ended up with 17 egg rolls. I'm glad for that, because now I get leftovers for lunch tomorrow! I'll definitely make these again and again and can't wait to try baking them, too. Thanks, Baking Nana, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
SO so so so good! I only had shredded cheese so that is what I used, but next time I will use the chunks of cheese. Since it was shredded the cheese kinda dissappeared when I fried them, but the were still very good. Quinn, my 3 year old was fighting me for the last one. This is a keeper for this family! Thank you Baking Nana for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yum Yum Yum! These were so great! I used Wontons to make little appetizer rolls. I diced the green chilies and chopped my cheese into tiny bits. I used the baking method on non-stick foil and the end result was a such a hit with my family. The little bits of cheese that oozed out got crispy (which we LOVE) and they disappeared so fast. I served mine with a mexi sour cream dip. Thanks NANA! Update- Made these again for company this weekend and fried them. They were great baked but they were over the top amazing when fried. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
These were sooooo good! I couldn't find wonton wrappers so ended up making them. I baked them in a 350 oven until golden. YUM!! Thanks Baking Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Won't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States