Texas Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
After lots of attempts at making rellenos, I gave up and bought them from Sam's. They were ok, but had gobs more breading than chiles and cheese. Well, never again! These may not be authentic, but they're so crispy-crunchy! I love the fact that there's so much less breading. I fried them because I've never been impressed with baked egg rolls. Ick. They don't absorb nearly as much oil as the traditional type rellenos. We used roasted Hatch chiles and home smoked pepperjack. Crazygood! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These little appetizers are so good. I love chili rellenos, so when I stumbled across this recipe while looking for a Chinese egg roll recipe, I had to save it for future reference. Awhile later, When I was wandering thru my recipe box for something interesting to make for an at home Saturday movie night, (I wasn't looking for anything in particular) I stumbled across this recipe again. I made 'em verbatim - My teenage boys LOVED THEM! - and so did I - absolutely a 5 STAR recipe. But, even with sour cream & guacamole, they still went to the fridge for Franks Red Hot. I've made them several times making them a little spicier. I've used fresh jalapenos (parboiled just a couple of minutes) stuffed with pepperjack cheese instead of Monterey (the boys loved 'em). I've also used a mixture of cream cheese,canned diced jalapenos & shredded pepperjack cheese, then stuffed the canned whole green chilis with this mixture. I was kinda surprised how yummy they were. But, when all is said and done, when I make these for a friend/family gathering, I always stay true to "Baking Nana's" original recipe, because even though they're not very spicy for my family's tastes, they're still packed with a lot of yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARROW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made these with gluten free egg-roll wrappers. We baked ours in a 180°C oven lightly brushing each roll with an egg wash before baking. Just delicious! They accompanied our Tex-Mex lunch and liked them so much we made extra for dinner. Thank you Baking Nana for this ingenious idea! UPDATE 25 April: I made these with gluten free rice wrappers and fresh green chilis today and they were out of this world! Baked at 180°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
i used mission flour tortillas but they started to puff up in the fryer so i had to poke holes around the egg roll before deep frying them. i think i will use the thinner flour tortillas as they don't take too long to brown thus less greasier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
The boys and husband give this five stars. Make sure you fry them up right away before the wrappers get soggy. I made mine up ahead and plated them in the fridge for an hour until I was ready to fry them. The bottom got soggy from the green chili pepper, even though I dried them with a paper towel before wrapping, so the cheese oozed out of some when frying. I made some with Pepper Jack cheese stix and some with Colby Jack cheese chunks, we all liked the Pepper Jack better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this for my school's potluck and everyone LOVED it!! Very easy, very yummy. My husband told me it's a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Don't let the simplicity fool you! This is a wonderful recipe. I have always had problems with the breading coming off Chili Rellenos when cooking. This is the answer to that problem. Crispy outside with the wonderful pepper and cheese inside. Perfect. Great Idea. The only thing I changed was to use shredded cheddar-jack instead of sliced cheese, and fresh Anaheim peppers that I roasted first. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good but, I recommend fresh green chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Much better fried than baked. We followed the advice of a previous reviewer and salted the chilies before wrapping. Careful not to stack them for long--we premade and put in fridge and several stuck together. Didn't use entire eggroll wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I added onions and these are amazing! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States