Texas Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
How can you go wrong with deer chili!!!This is a good recipe I used tomato sauce and petite diced tomatoes. I also used a can of rotel tomatoes.I added comino and garlic salt omitting the oregano. I am also from Aggie country and this is the South and we love our beans in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
A couple of weeks ago made this with my frozen deer chili meat.My wife and kids devoured it. Of course I helped too!And they were not aware that it was Deer! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
We used both ground & cubed venison steak, added tomato sauce, jalapenos, and served with cheddar cheese & sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe has a very good flavor with the venison. I added some diced stewed tomatoes and some tomato juice (not much). Also I used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans and a little cornstarch to thicken at the end. Kept all the spices the same. As far as the purists are concerned-OOOH! So Texas "Invented" Chili and "there's no beans under any circumstances in chili, ever". WOOPEE. As far as Ive ever been concerned, why would you ever want to eat one of those "Chili Cook Off" chilis that is nothing more than a soupy gruel. Chili should be a hearty meal with some substance like beans, onions, peppers, and whatever else one cares to put in! Anyways, good job, great flavor and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this chili fro a group of hunters and they were crazy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This came out really great. No gamey taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent! The only thing I changed was adding 1 package taco seasoning to be deer after it was browned. Then I also added some diced tomatoes and 1 cup tomato juice. To spice it up a bit I added 1 tsp. red pepper flakes. Delicious! The beans were perfect in this “chili”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I did not taste the deer at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by motoclown
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed a few things too, I used ground deer meat, fresh peppers, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and used canned tomatoes instead of beef broth. I also cooked It on the stove. It was a good hearty dinner and I'll probably freeze some for later. + a bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motoclown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States