Texas Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe has a very good flavor with the venison. I added some diced stewed tomatoes and some tomato juice (not much). Also I used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans and a little cornstarch to thicken at the end. Kept all the spices the same. As far as the purists are concerned-OOOH! So Texas "Invented" Chili and "there's no beans under any circumstances in chili, ever". WOOPEE. As far as Ive ever been concerned, why would you ever want to eat one of those "Chili Cook Off" chilis that is nothing more than a soupy gruel. Chili should be a hearty meal with some substance like beans, onions, peppers, and whatever else one cares to put in! Anyways, good job, great flavor and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
good start, but everyone knows Texas invented Chili and there's no beans under any circumstances in chili, ever. Beans go on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I am always looking for new recipies for Deer. I love to hunt and cook with deer until the freezer is empty. This recipe is quick and simple and is pleasing to the taste buds. Cannot rate the acceptability of children due to having none. A perfect meal for a working woman with little or no time to cook a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
After doing Chili Cook-Off's in Texas for years, I was offended by the addition of beans, and then adding Texas to the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmixer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
We used both ground & cubed venison steak, added tomato sauce, jalapenos, and served with cheddar cheese & sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I changed a few things in this recipe such as using ground deer meat, adding a diced jalapeno pepper, doubling the amount of beans, and adding 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by motoclown
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed a few things too, I used ground deer meat, fresh peppers, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and used canned tomatoes instead of beef broth. I also cooked It on the stove. It was a good hearty dinner and I'll probably freeze some for later. + a bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motoclown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
A couple of weeks ago made this with my frozen deer chili meat.My wife and kids devoured it. Of course I helped too!And they were not aware that it was Deer! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
How can you go wrong with deer chili!!!This is a good recipe I used tomato sauce and petite diced tomatoes. I also used a can of rotel tomatoes.I added comino and garlic salt omitting the oregano. I am also from Aggie country and this is the South and we love our beans in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this chili fro a group of hunters and they were crazy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States