Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent! I divided my recipe in half initially as I was afraid of investing so much into something that I may not eat. Even by cutting it in half, it made a lot. I used 1.5 lbs of hamburger. Had a bag in the freezer of some left over spaghetti sauce so I put that in there, added a little more cumin and chili powder....and it was really good. Have enough for about 4 more meals - so in the freezer it goes....awaiting a chili cold night. I have made the other kind before where you add the ranch dressing mix and this recipe is so much better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Fast and easy preparation. Typical taste of Texas...hearty and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My husband actually saw this recipe first and asked me to make it for him. It did not disappoint! We have a big family (five kids) and this recipe makes enough for two dinners and a lunch. Great value and great taste all in one. We've also served this for guests who've loved it too and always ask for the recipe. I can't say enough about how much we really love this recipe. It's definitely a family favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really good! Halved the recipe yield and used ground venison and homemade venison sausage. I left out the frozen veggies as it was already a lot! My fiance really loved it. Had just the right amount of "kick". Will make it next time with cornbread. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeee8998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe makes a lot! It was fun to make--quick and easy, too. I browned and drained the beef, then browned and drained the sausage. I set both meats aside while I sauteed the onion (in a clean soup pot) in two tablespoons of oil. Then added the spices and cooked for a couple minutes more before putting all of the rest of the ingredients into the pot. Because I had an open can of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce in my fridge I diced up a couple of tablespoons and added that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was a hit with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Our family absolutely LOVES this recipe. Even my teenagers' friends have requested it! I did decide, though, to withhold the extra cans of corn. The corn gave the stew a little element of sweetness that I could do without. I added 2 more cans of various types of beans instead. You could also add a bit of of "Tony Chachere's" seasoning for more kick as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Nice hearty stew. Added cayenne for heat. Only thing I would change is that I would drain the corn next time. I don't really like sweetness in my savory foods and the liquid from the corn made it alittle too sweet for us. But other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious and filling. I followed the recipe, for the most part, and will use this recipe again and again. Here is how I tweaked the recipe to suit our tastes: I used beef kielbasa, 4 large cloves of garlic, 1 very large onion, 1 small can of tomato sauce to give more body, and I used chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the mixed vegetables as we had enough veggies with the potatoes, onion, corn, and pinto beans. I did not use the cumin and used just the chili powder--regular and ancho. I think next time, I will skip the potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AugustBrown
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful! I didn't have regular pinto beans so I used pinto beans in chili sauce and just nixed the chili powder. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and halved everything with the exception of the beef (my husband likes a little more meaty stew) and overall I am very pleased with the result. Hearty, filling, and I still had tons and tons left over. This is the perfect stew for a cold night. But next time I think I will be adding a little bit more heat as I like a little more spice/heat in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States