Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Fast and easy preparation. Typical taste of Texas...hearty and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Fast and easy ~ my kind of meal! My family loved this stew. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Really great recipe! Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was a hit with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
My sons loved this. My husband and I were much less enthusiastic about it, but my sons had seconds and then asked if they could have it again for breakfast tomorrow! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Pretty Good Stew! It sure does make alot, I thought I was going to have to open a soup kitchen..I had so much stew. Next time I will half the recipe. The recipe says "salt to taste", I ended up putting 3 teaspoons for this large batch of stew. Good flavor, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very, very good - I cut the recipe in half, but still used more onion, garlic, beans, and potatoes than the recipe called for. I added more chili powder, garlic powder, and onion powder as well. Tasted awesome when served with cornbread - leftovers should be yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe makes a lot! It was fun to make--quick and easy, too. I browned and drained the beef, then browned and drained the sausage. I set both meats aside while I sauteed the onion (in a clean soup pot) in two tablespoons of oil. Then added the spices and cooked for a couple minutes more before putting all of the rest of the ingredients into the pot. Because I had an open can of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce in my fridge I diced up a couple of tablespoons and added that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This didn't just knock my socks off but it was pretty good. I will be making this again when it gets colder because my husband and I both agree it seemes like it would be a good meal for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I left out the beef and used turkey kielbasa. this is a very hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States