Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent! I divided my recipe in half initially as I was afraid of investing so much into something that I may not eat. Even by cutting it in half, it made a lot. I used 1.5 lbs of hamburger. Had a bag in the freezer of some left over spaghetti sauce so I put that in there, added a little more cumin and chili powder....and it was really good. Have enough for about 4 more meals - so in the freezer it goes....awaiting a chili cold night. I have made the other kind before where you add the ranch dressing mix and this recipe is so much better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was an easy recipe that turned out really well. It makes a HUGE batch though. You'll be eating off of for quite awhile. I used turkey kielbasa and didn't add the bag of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I adjusted the amounts to suit my personal taste. Took it to work and everybody loved it. But it makes a lot. We've been eating on it all week and I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mound Valley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I left out the beef and used turkey kielbasa. this is a very hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This didn't just knock my socks off but it was pretty good. I will be making this again when it gets colder because my husband and I both agree it seemes like it would be a good meal for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe makes a lot! It was fun to make--quick and easy, too. I browned and drained the beef, then browned and drained the sausage. I set both meats aside while I sauteed the onion (in a clean soup pot) in two tablespoons of oil. Then added the spices and cooked for a couple minutes more before putting all of the rest of the ingredients into the pot. Because I had an open can of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce in my fridge I diced up a couple of tablespoons and added that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very, very good - I cut the recipe in half, but still used more onion, garlic, beans, and potatoes than the recipe called for. I added more chili powder, garlic powder, and onion powder as well. Tasted awesome when served with cornbread - leftovers should be yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Pretty Good Stew! It sure does make alot, I thought I was going to have to open a soup kitchen..I had so much stew. Next time I will half the recipe. The recipe says "salt to taste", I ended up putting 3 teaspoons for this large batch of stew. Good flavor, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
My sons loved this. My husband and I were much less enthusiastic about it, but my sons had seconds and then asked if they could have it again for breakfast tomorrow! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was a hit with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States