Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have made this a few times now and it is ALWAYS a hit with our family! It makes a LOT of soup, so expect leftovers for a family of four. Great dish to feed a crowd too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is so good! Used low fat ground beef (95%) and reduced fat kielbasa and worked fine! Added 4 chopped jalapenos. Did not peel the potatoes. Used kidney instead of pintos (it's what I had). Great for using up those partial bags of frozen veggies. Halved the recipe and still made a ton, lots for the freezer. Used the slow cooker and started it on high to get all that volume up to temp, then turned to low and cooked about 6 hours. I was worried the potatoes would get too mushy but that did not happen. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm a real Texas girl and I can tell you my whole family loved this recipe- It made enough for an army! I hardly had a pot big enough, which is something to say! I'll half the recipe next time and it'll still be plenty, I'm sure. My family told me that the next time I make it, since I WILL be making this again, to half the amount of sausage, so I'll do that as well. 10 stars, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a meal everyone will love! First I cut the servings in half, then I used ground turkey instead of hamburger, light red kidney beans instead of black eyed peas, & canned potatoes so i wouldnt have to do all the work! It was still great. Also, i was out of chili pepper so i used a teaspoon of chili seasoning instead & it worked just fine. I think next time I'm up for the work I will use real potatoes & leave the skin on! This recipe is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My husband actually saw this recipe first and asked me to make it for him. It did not disappoint! We have a big family (five kids) and this recipe makes enough for two dinners and a lunch. Great value and great taste all in one. We've also served this for guests who've loved it too and always ask for the recipe. I can't say enough about how much we really love this recipe. It's definitely a family favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Just finished eating. What a wonderful meal. I made it just like the recipe says. We all loved it. Very simple, with a lot of flavor. I just have to remember to scale it back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I changed the serving size to 6 and it still made a ton of stew. I didn't care for the kielbasa sausage but it was a nice meal on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this with Andouille sausage as that's what I had on hand. I also threw in some finely-diced jalapenos. By the time I'd added the pinto beans and canned corn, I already had way too much for the both of us (including leftovers for lunches) so I didn't bother with any additional veggies. I also added some onion powder for a little more flavor. I served it with corn bread as suggested, and it was a hearty meal for a chilly Winter night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent! I divided my recipe in half initially as I was afraid of investing so much into something that I may not eat. Even by cutting it in half, it made a lot. I used 1.5 lbs of hamburger. Had a bag in the freezer of some left over spaghetti sauce so I put that in there, added a little more cumin and chili powder....and it was really good. Have enough for about 4 more meals - so in the freezer it goes....awaiting a chili cold night. I have made the other kind before where you add the ranch dressing mix and this recipe is so much better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was an easy recipe that turned out really well. It makes a HUGE batch though. You'll be eating off of for quite awhile. I used turkey kielbasa and didn't add the bag of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States