Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is really comfort food at it's best! You get to smell the wonderful aromas while it's getting better and better. One of my husband's favorite meals with corn bread or tortillas and a green salad. I love that it makes a lot because it's even better the next day. I don't use frozen mixed vegetables. I prefer to add fresh veggies like zucchini, green beans, whatever I happen to have. Also great using sausage with the ground beef, or instead. Just a great recipe, and so easy to make your family's favorite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These ingredients have been doubled already. This will serve 20 easily with cornbread. All the ingredients would not fit into my crockpot. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made a few minor changes -- halved the recipe, but used a whole onion and 12 oz bag of mixed veggies, 1-1/2 tsp each of cumin and chili powder, substituted black beans for pintos. I used Rotel Hot tomatoes for more kick. The end result was quite spicy, surprisingly. I drained the beans and corn and only used a cup of water to cook in a slow cooker for 6 hours (but browned the beef and sausage and cooked the onion in the meat until transparent). I'm not sure what the point would be of cooking the full recipe unless you're feeding a crowd -- this was a packed crockpot at half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I followed it to a "T" and it was SO bland. I kept going back to it and adding more chili pepper and more garlic, salt and pepper and it still was so bland. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe was so easy to make & delicious too. For the "salt & pepper to taste" I used 1 TBSP of Goya Adobo & 1 Packet of Goya Sazon Flavor Packet With Coriander & Annatto. I changed the serving size to 5 and this still filled my crock pot to the top! For some heat, I added Cholula Hot Sauce to the adult servings. I will definitely make this again as it was so easy to throw in a crock pot and the whole family enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Loved this and it made a ton of leftovers which was perfect. I made this in the crockpot and used stew meat instead of ground beef, turkey kielbasa and canned vegetarian beans. This was very hearty and filling. Made this the day of hurricane Sandy and hence my power going out that night....I was able to reheat on my gas stove top the next day. Everyone enjoyed this all in one meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. Even my grandkids loved it. Since I work all day, I threw it together in the morning and cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love it! They do not have kielbasa sausage at my grocery store, so we take fresh european sausages and it's delish! We LOVE it! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Changed the recipe as follows: for meat used 1.5 lbs ground beef & 1 pound hot breakfast sausage roll, used Bush's chili beans instead of plain pintos, 4 tablespoons chili powder, 1 tablespoon Tabasco sauce, left out potato & mixed veggies, used a can of green beans, left out the diced tomato with chile peppers, added a small can of tomato paste, added a tablespoon oregano. Turned out awesome this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AugustBrown
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful! I didn't have regular pinto beans so I used pinto beans in chili sauce and just nixed the chili powder. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and halved everything with the exception of the beef (my husband likes a little more meaty stew) and overall I am very pleased with the result. Hearty, filling, and I still had tons and tons left over. This is the perfect stew for a cold night. But next time I think I will be adding a little bit more heat as I like a little more spice/heat in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States