Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Nice hearty stew. Added cayenne for heat. Only thing I would change is that I would drain the corn next time. I don't really like sweetness in my savory foods and the liquid from the corn made it alittle too sweet for us. But other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I have made this several times & it is always a hit in my home....loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious and filling. I followed the recipe, for the most part, and will use this recipe again and again. Here is how I tweaked the recipe to suit our tastes: I used beef kielbasa, 4 large cloves of garlic, 1 very large onion, 1 small can of tomato sauce to give more body, and I used chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the mixed vegetables as we had enough veggies with the potatoes, onion, corn, and pinto beans. I did not use the cumin and used just the chili powder--regular and ancho. I think next time, I will skip the potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is easy to make, very hearty soup. It makes so much I freeze half. I use fresh veggies instead of frozen package. And I add more salt and more spices to for my personal taste.. Overall great comfort food. Usually make with Mexican cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking In Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this last night and cut the recipe in half and it still made a large pot of stew.this turned out great and will open up your sinuses, gret for a cold weather, my whole family loved it and will make it again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ash, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
We really liked this recipe too, but I'll admit I made a few changes because we like it spicier. Increased the garlic to 4 cloves, used 1 1/2 onions and doubled the cumin and chili powder, and added a 16 oz jar of green salsa. Also I was running out of time and didn't want to chop potatoes, so I subbed a bag of hashbrowns (the cubed kind) that I thawed in the microwave, which worked beautifully. It did make a lot, so much so that my crockpot was almost overflowing, but it was so good! Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have made this a few times now and it is ALWAYS a hit with our family! It makes a LOT of soup, so expect leftovers for a family of four. Great dish to feed a crowd too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is so good! Used low fat ground beef (95%) and reduced fat kielbasa and worked fine! Added 4 chopped jalapenos. Did not peel the potatoes. Used kidney instead of pintos (it's what I had). Great for using up those partial bags of frozen veggies. Halved the recipe and still made a ton, lots for the freezer. Used the slow cooker and started it on high to get all that volume up to temp, then turned to low and cooked about 6 hours. I was worried the potatoes would get too mushy but that did not happen. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm a real Texas girl and I can tell you my whole family loved this recipe- It made enough for an army! I hardly had a pot big enough, which is something to say! I'll half the recipe next time and it'll still be plenty, I'm sure. My family told me that the next time I make it, since I WILL be making this again, to half the amount of sausage, so I'll do that as well. 10 stars, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a meal everyone will love! First I cut the servings in half, then I used ground turkey instead of hamburger, light red kidney beans instead of black eyed peas, & canned potatoes so i wouldnt have to do all the work! It was still great. Also, i was out of chili pepper so i used a teaspoon of chili seasoning instead & it worked just fine. I think next time I'm up for the work I will use real potatoes & leave the skin on! This recipe is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States