Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Changed the recipe as follows: for meat used 1.5 lbs ground beef & 1 pound hot breakfast sausage roll, used Bush's chili beans instead of plain pintos, 4 tablespoons chili powder, 1 tablespoon Tabasco sauce, left out potato & mixed veggies, used a can of green beans, left out the diced tomato with chile peppers, added a small can of tomato paste, added a tablespoon oregano. Turned out awesome this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AugustBrown
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful! I didn't have regular pinto beans so I used pinto beans in chili sauce and just nixed the chili powder. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and halved everything with the exception of the beef (my husband likes a little more meaty stew) and overall I am very pleased with the result. Hearty, filling, and I still had tons and tons left over. This is the perfect stew for a cold night. But next time I think I will be adding a little bit more heat as I like a little more spice/heat in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I am so excitted to make this. My mother used to make this all the time and I loved it. She never taught me how or left a recipe behiind before she passed so I took a shot and see if I could find it. I hope it comes out the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really good! Halved the recipe yield and used ground venison and homemade venison sausage. I left out the frozen veggies as it was already a lot! My fiance really loved it. Had just the right amount of "kick". Will make it next time with cornbread. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeee8998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Made half a batch of this stew, and still made gobs. This was an okay stew, (soup), but just not much flavor. Does need something else, not sure I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe GTEACHERCOOK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Our family absolutely LOVES this recipe. Even my teenagers' friends have requested it! I did decide, though, to withhold the extra cans of corn. The corn gave the stew a little element of sweetness that I could do without. I added 2 more cans of various types of beans instead. You could also add a bit of of "Tony Chachere's" seasoning for more kick as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Nice hearty stew. Added cayenne for heat. Only thing I would change is that I would drain the corn next time. I don't really like sweetness in my savory foods and the liquid from the corn made it alittle too sweet for us. But other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I have made this several times & it is always a hit in my home....loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious and filling. I followed the recipe, for the most part, and will use this recipe again and again. Here is how I tweaked the recipe to suit our tastes: I used beef kielbasa, 4 large cloves of garlic, 1 very large onion, 1 small can of tomato sauce to give more body, and I used chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the mixed vegetables as we had enough veggies with the potatoes, onion, corn, and pinto beans. I did not use the cumin and used just the chili powder--regular and ancho. I think next time, I will skip the potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is easy to make, very hearty soup. It makes so much I freeze half. I use fresh veggies instead of frozen package. And I add more salt and more spices to for my personal taste.. Overall great comfort food. Usually make with Mexican cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking In Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States