Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. Even my grandkids loved it. Since I work all day, I threw it together in the morning and cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love it! They do not have kielbasa sausage at my grocery store, so we take fresh european sausages and it's delish! We LOVE it! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Changed the recipe as follows: for meat used 1.5 lbs ground beef & 1 pound hot breakfast sausage roll, used Bush's chili beans instead of plain pintos, 4 tablespoons chili powder, 1 tablespoon Tabasco sauce, left out potato & mixed veggies, used a can of green beans, left out the diced tomato with chile peppers, added a small can of tomato paste, added a tablespoon oregano. Turned out awesome this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AugustBrown
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful! I didn't have regular pinto beans so I used pinto beans in chili sauce and just nixed the chili powder. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and halved everything with the exception of the beef (my husband likes a little more meaty stew) and overall I am very pleased with the result. Hearty, filling, and I still had tons and tons left over. This is the perfect stew for a cold night. But next time I think I will be adding a little bit more heat as I like a little more spice/heat in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I am so excitted to make this. My mother used to make this all the time and I loved it. She never taught me how or left a recipe behiind before she passed so I took a shot and see if I could find it. I hope it comes out the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really good! Halved the recipe yield and used ground venison and homemade venison sausage. I left out the frozen veggies as it was already a lot! My fiance really loved it. Had just the right amount of "kick". Will make it next time with cornbread. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeee8998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Made half a batch of this stew, and still made gobs. This was an okay stew, (soup), but just not much flavor. Does need something else, not sure I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe GTEACHERCOOK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Our family absolutely LOVES this recipe. Even my teenagers' friends have requested it! I did decide, though, to withhold the extra cans of corn. The corn gave the stew a little element of sweetness that I could do without. I added 2 more cans of various types of beans instead. You could also add a bit of of "Tony Chachere's" seasoning for more kick as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Nice hearty stew. Added cayenne for heat. Only thing I would change is that I would drain the corn next time. I don't really like sweetness in my savory foods and the liquid from the corn made it alittle too sweet for us. But other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I have made this several times & it is always a hit in my home....loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States