Texas Cowboy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I cut this recipe in half and it was plenty for 4 of us. I also left out the mixed veggies but otherwise made it according to the recipe. As other reviewers said, this is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Awesome dish! Made it my own of course cut the recipe down to 5 servings, browned 1 lb ground beef, 1 small onion, grated garlic (2 bulbs), and 1- 14 oz kielbasa,together in pan, transferred to big pot, added 1 can petite diced tomatoes (unsalted), 1 can tomatoes with green chili's,1 can of kernel corn (no salt and no sugar) drained half, 1 can of pinto beans (no salt), 1 can of diced potatoes, drained and rinsed, 1/2 bag of frozen peas and carrots, and 1/2 bag of frozen green beans (only because mixed veggies have corn which I added) 3tsp chili powder,3 tsp of cumin, 2tsp Smokey paprika, 1TBL dried cilantro, 1/2 can tomato paste (it was missing something), 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce and 2 tsp of liquid smoke. added some corn starch to thicken it up, It was so flavorful, my guys (2 son's 17 & 22 and hubby 47) they are eaters...lol thanks for the recipe, definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Latsch Matheny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is really comfort food at it's best! You get to smell the wonderful aromas while it's getting better and better. One of my husband's favorite meals with corn bread or tortillas and a green salad. I love that it makes a lot because it's even better the next day. I don't use frozen mixed vegetables. I prefer to add fresh veggies like zucchini, green beans, whatever I happen to have. Also great using sausage with the ground beef, or instead. Just a great recipe, and so easy to make your family's favorite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These ingredients have been doubled already. This will serve 20 easily with cornbread. All the ingredients would not fit into my crockpot. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made a few minor changes -- halved the recipe, but used a whole onion and 12 oz bag of mixed veggies, 1-1/2 tsp each of cumin and chili powder, substituted black beans for pintos. I used Rotel Hot tomatoes for more kick. The end result was quite spicy, surprisingly. I drained the beans and corn and only used a cup of water to cook in a slow cooker for 6 hours (but browned the beef and sausage and cooked the onion in the meat until transparent). I'm not sure what the point would be of cooking the full recipe unless you're feeding a crowd -- this was a packed crockpot at half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I followed it to a "T" and it was SO bland. I kept going back to it and adding more chili pepper and more garlic, salt and pepper and it still was so bland. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peay Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe was so easy to make & delicious too. For the "salt & pepper to taste" I used 1 TBSP of Goya Adobo & 1 Packet of Goya Sazon Flavor Packet With Coriander & Annatto. I changed the serving size to 5 and this still filled my crock pot to the top! For some heat, I added Cholula Hot Sauce to the adult servings. I will definitely make this again as it was so easy to throw in a crock pot and the whole family enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Loved this and it made a ton of leftovers which was perfect. I made this in the crockpot and used stew meat instead of ground beef, turkey kielbasa and canned vegetarian beans. This was very hearty and filling. Made this the day of hurricane Sandy and hence my power going out that night....I was able to reheat on my gas stove top the next day. Everyone enjoyed this all in one meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. Even my grandkids loved it. Since I work all day, I threw it together in the morning and cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love it! They do not have kielbasa sausage at my grocery store, so we take fresh european sausages and it's delish! We LOVE it! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States