Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
We loved it! I had all the ingredients and used prepackaged coleslaw mix. Instead of the green onion, I substituted a whole white onion, which I chopped in the food processor with 6-8 radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome coleslaw if you don't like traditional slaw that is too sweet. It definitely has a kick..more like a punch.. so if you don't want to feel the after burn in your mouth try 1/2 tsp of cayenne, instead. Absolutely loved the cumin and that's what makes this recipe. I substituted sour cream and greek yogurt for the mayo. I don't like mayo and next time will probably just sub the yogurt but because I had sour cream I needed to use up I included that. I will use this again in the summer when we start to BBQ again. Yummy and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe to a t and measured all the seasonings out only using a bag of pre-shredded cabbage with carrots in it. OMG the seasoning were out of control. It felt like a paste in my mouth. Usually I never measure out my seasonings just use what I think is right, I wish I would have with this recipe because I think it has the potential to be really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is amazing when put on top of pulled pork - eitehr with or without a bun. The creamy, spicy flavors and crunchy texture make mouths happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cantonment, Florida, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought it was ok. No one in my family liked it. The cumin was very overpowering and it was pretty spicy. Tasted kinda like a taco but that"s all you taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this coleslaw! I too reduced the cayenne and cumin by half, but it was perfect. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last summer and the people we had over had lived in Texas for 8 years, they thought it was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is the best coleslaw I've had so yummy and tangy so much tastier than the traditional coleslaw. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Too much cumin! You want it to enhance the flavor, not take it over! 1 tsp is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this slaw. It's tasty and tangy and just different. One may want to consider the fact that there are a few savory spices in this recipe, so if black pepper makes you sweat, this is maube not the best choice. If you like spicy, tangy - you'll make this salad again and again for the taste and the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States