Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This wasn't a hit with us, unfortunately. I also halved the cumin and cayenne, but we just didn't think the overall combination of flavors worked. Maybe it would be better as a potato salad? Oh well, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Way too spicy, and just a strange combination of all the different flavors. Could also be a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
It was way too spicy but was also just a strange combination of flavors. And it's not that we don't like tex-mex because we do but not this. Will certainly not make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this tonight with my special steaks for my husband and I. He really liked the slaw and said it was a good side dish with the steaks and rated it 5*s. Will definitely make it again!!! I did make one change by adding 1 TBS of white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Wish I'd read the reviews first! It was way to much for me, but my husband said it was the best coleslaw he'd ever had. I will try again with 1/2 the spices(especially the cumin) as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Re: "For a more mild salad, use less green onions." We found the problem was NOT solved by using less onion, but by the need for cutting the amount of cumin and cayenne at least by at least one-half, as other reviewers have already suggested. After making that correction, the recipe has become a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The first time I rated this, I only gave it a 3, but I've got to change it to a 4. We had it the day I made it and it only tasted like coleslaw with taco seasoning in it, but the next day it was a good bit better and then the day after that, it was really good. So, if you know far enough in advance, make it two days before you'll eat it. It has a great flavor then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Very good taste but for my family I need to cut back on the HOT stuff...will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very tasty. I used only half the amount of mayo, added a dash more lime juice and it was perfect. not too soggy. I also used reduced fat mayo and did add mroe cayenne and cumin. The leftovers of this tasted yummy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I love this recipe. Quick, easy to make, and extremely versatile. I've added poblano or jalapeno peppers sometimes to give it an extra kick. I use this in turkey wraps, serve it along side pulled pork bbq sandwiches, and sometimes just eat it right out of the container, all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States