Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought it was ok. No one in my family liked it. The cumin was very overpowering and it was pretty spicy. Tasted kinda like a taco but that"s all you taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this coleslaw! I too reduced the cayenne and cumin by half, but it was perfect. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last summer and the people we had over had lived in Texas for 8 years, they thought it was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is the best coleslaw I've had so yummy and tangy so much tastier than the traditional coleslaw. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Too much cumin! You want it to enhance the flavor, not take it over! 1 tsp is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this slaw. It's tasty and tangy and just different. One may want to consider the fact that there are a few savory spices in this recipe, so if black pepper makes you sweat, this is maube not the best choice. If you like spicy, tangy - you'll make this salad again and again for the taste and the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added corn and cilantro. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hirschman
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious and fresh-tasting. Especially yummy for those of us who don't like overly mayonaise-y coleslaw. And the cayenne gives this a wonderful, surprise "kick"--no longer will your coleslaw be something that just "comes along for the ride!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
HMMM.. could barely even eat this....was very disappointed. The heat was way too intense, and so was the cumin....waaay too much cumin. This recipe needs a major rework/rehab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Awesome taste but used red cabbage instead of green and added a can of rinsed black beans and some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States