Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Never really liked coleslaw. Was looking for something different to go with BBQ brisket sandwich and this was it. Love the cumin as it takes away some of the cabbage taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
We loved it! I had all the ingredients and used prepackaged coleslaw mix. Instead of the green onion, I substituted a whole white onion, which I chopped in the food processor with 6-8 radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome coleslaw if you don't like traditional slaw that is too sweet. It definitely has a kick..more like a punch.. so if you don't want to feel the after burn in your mouth try 1/2 tsp of cayenne, instead. Absolutely loved the cumin and that's what makes this recipe. I substituted sour cream and greek yogurt for the mayo. I don't like mayo and next time will probably just sub the yogurt but because I had sour cream I needed to use up I included that. I will use this again in the summer when we start to BBQ again. Yummy and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe to a t and measured all the seasonings out only using a bag of pre-shredded cabbage with carrots in it. OMG the seasoning were out of control. It felt like a paste in my mouth. Usually I never measure out my seasonings just use what I think is right, I wish I would have with this recipe because I think it has the potential to be really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is amazing when put on top of pulled pork - eitehr with or without a bun. The creamy, spicy flavors and crunchy texture make mouths happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cantonment, Florida, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought it was ok. No one in my family liked it. The cumin was very overpowering and it was pretty spicy. Tasted kinda like a taco but that"s all you taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this coleslaw! I too reduced the cayenne and cumin by half, but it was perfect. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last summer and the people we had over had lived in Texas for 8 years, they thought it was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is the best coleslaw I've had so yummy and tangy so much tastier than the traditional coleslaw. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Too much cumin! You want it to enhance the flavor, not take it over! 1 tsp is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States