Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
It came out spicy, I'm not sure if I messed up or if that is how it is supposed to taste, but I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This recipe is so easy and good! I had made a pork roast in the crockpot wit the Campbell's Sweet Korean Barbecue and wanted a coleslaw to eat with it on soft taco wraps! I did not have cumin so I added garlic powder and onion powder. I left out the green onions and just bought the pack of the already prepared cabbage with carrots and radishes for coleslaw! It was so good! Definitely will make again. Would love to try it on shredded beef tacos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is fantastic. I added lime juice and used less oil than called for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have been looking for a good slaw recipe with no added sugar or sweeteners. After reading the reviews, I decided to make this 1 day in advance. I also decided to HALVE the spices. I'm so glad I cut back on the spice. I cannot imagine this slaw being edible with the full amount. It is very spicy with half the cumin, cayenne, and black pepper. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, but if I do, I will cut back on the spice even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I think this has a lot of potential, but I would recommend cutting back on the cumin and definitely cut back on the cayenne pepper to about half a teaspoon. It was so spicy we couldn't even finish what was on our plates, and we like spicy food so this is saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
i cut back on the ccumin to 1/2 added also added 1/4 cup sugar and doubled the lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
talk about kapow! didn't have any lime so i just added a ton of lemon.. was worried abt the amt of mayo but it came out fine.. im a big fan of strong tasting foods and this was on the cusp of almost being too much for me.. did enjoy the dish tho.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Never really liked coleslaw. Was looking for something different to go with BBQ brisket sandwich and this was it. Love the cumin as it takes away some of the cabbage taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
We loved it! I had all the ingredients and used prepackaged coleslaw mix. Instead of the green onion, I substituted a whole white onion, which I chopped in the food processor with 6-8 radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome coleslaw if you don't like traditional slaw that is too sweet. It definitely has a kick..more like a punch.. so if you don't want to feel the after burn in your mouth try 1/2 tsp of cayenne, instead. Absolutely loved the cumin and that's what makes this recipe. I substituted sour cream and greek yogurt for the mayo. I don't like mayo and next time will probably just sub the yogurt but because I had sour cream I needed to use up I included that. I will use this again in the summer when we start to BBQ again. Yummy and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States