Texas Christmas Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This is similar to a recipe I have used, except we purchased gallon jars of hamburger slices at Sam's instead of having to slice the pickles. As you described, they are dark green, crisp and yummy. Everyone loves them. My recipe calls them "cheater pickles." We packaged them in small containers with a red plaid ribbon for Christmas gifts. A big hit! Mine did not call for the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I had a blast making these pickles! They are so close to tasting like Tony Packo's Sweet Hots. I made two gallons, one jar cut into spears and the other cut into thick slices. I like the slices better and they were to my liking after only five days. I am going to experiment with about half the sugar and a little less garlic, next time. The Tabasco is perfect, though. I processed some of the finished pint jars in a boiling water bath for ten minutes so I can keep them longer. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This recipe was fun and easy to make. The flavor is similar to bread and butter pickles, but with a little extra kick. I love the ease in which one can adjust the recipe to suit their preferences. For instance, I didn't have hot pepper sauce, so I used red pepper flakes. Also, I used about half the sugar and the recipe came out just fine. Texas Christmas Pickles will be a staple in my refrigerator all year 'round! Thanks a million for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These pickles are awesome. I've been searching for a recipe like this for months! I made them at Christmas and they were a big hit. I just made my 2nd batch the other day. I did make a couple of changes...I used the sliced dill pickles. I used about 5-6 oz of jalapeno juice instead of tabasco. (from a jar of pickled jalapeno's)I also added about 1 1/2 cups of sliced jalapeno's (I had to remove some pickles to make room.) 4 1/2 cups of sugar was all I used as well. These were so crisp! I've had several requests for the recipe. These are excellent with grilled cheese sandwiches and burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Note: sugar pulls out the moisture from the drained pickles. If your pickle spears come out too shrunken, cut the amount of sugar. One or two reviews said they cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I tried these and they turned out great ,as long as I used the cheap brand of dill pickles ,whether I made strips out of whole ones, or ,the sliced ones , (both of the "cheap" ones came from Sam's), when I tried recipe using "Claussen" Dill Strips they turned out shriveled and limp, They still had a good taste , but were not crunchy ! My friends and family love the cheap, crunchy ones ,to those who like them hotter, I add a couple of red peppers, makes them pretty ,too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I was afraid to make these so I used a 1/2 gallon of pickles. I sliced them into spears. They sort of shriveled up and look funny....is that right? They are tasty, just weird looking. I will try them again, but want to try slices instead of spears. A nice sweet/spicy flavor. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Everyone really liked these. I was skeptical, but ended up happy with the results. I love the crispness of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I've had this recipe for years and finally have tried it! My family will love the sweet spicy flavor. I wanted to comment also that the original recipe hadn't warned that eventually the liquid would be greater than the jar due to the increased liquid so I poured it off and poked straigt garlic cloves in it. This recipe is definitely a "keeper" for year round. This time around it is going faster than I can put it into smaller jars but next time I'll just start out with three gallons and then we'll each have our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I'd never heard of pickles like this before, so I had to try them. They were sweet, spicy (swicy), crunchy, and fun to make. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States