Texas Christmas Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This recipe was fun and easy to make. The flavor is similar to bread and butter pickles, but with a little extra kick. I love the ease in which one can adjust the recipe to suit their preferences. For instance, I didn't have hot pepper sauce, so I used red pepper flakes. Also, I used about half the sugar and the recipe came out just fine. Texas Christmas Pickles will be a staple in my refrigerator all year 'round! Thanks a million for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were DELICIOUS!! I wasn't sure about the directions (starting out w/no liquid), however, they were well worth taking the chance. I took some to work and everyone raved about them and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Daykin, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Oh my gosh, fabulous! I will be making these every year for my Christmas gift baskets. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I had a blast making these pickles! They are so close to tasting like Tony Packo's Sweet Hots. I made two gallons, one jar cut into spears and the other cut into thick slices. I like the slices better and they were to my liking after only five days. I am going to experiment with about half the sugar and a little less garlic, next time. The Tabasco is perfect, though. I processed some of the finished pint jars in a boiling water bath for ten minutes so I can keep them longer. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I've had this recipe for years and finally have tried it! My family will love the sweet spicy flavor. I wanted to comment also that the original recipe hadn't warned that eventually the liquid would be greater than the jar due to the increased liquid so I poured it off and poked straigt garlic cloves in it. This recipe is definitely a "keeper" for year round. This time around it is going faster than I can put it into smaller jars but next time I'll just start out with three gallons and then we'll each have our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This is similar to a recipe I have used, except we purchased gallon jars of hamburger slices at Sam's instead of having to slice the pickles. As you described, they are dark green, crisp and yummy. Everyone loves them. My recipe calls them "cheater pickles." We packaged them in small containers with a red plaid ribbon for Christmas gifts. A big hit! Mine did not call for the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I'd never heard of pickles like this before, so I had to try them. They were sweet, spicy (swicy), crunchy, and fun to make. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Thses are wonderful! I used presliced dills though & wish I had sliced up my own... I would have preferred thicker slices. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I wanted to try this for Christmas and bought a 680g jar of pickled dill cucumbers at the store. I just sliced them last night and added the tabasco and garlic and sugar. I have to say, it has only been one day and I have tasted them and they are fantastic. Crunchy. Tingly spicy and sweet. Addictive. I will buy a few more jars as I can't resist. I don't think this jar will last a week. Thankyou for the new Christmas recipe to add to my other pickle recipes. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe! I have made these before but w/out the hot sauce. They are better with the hot sauce. You taste the sweetness first then the hot kicks in-they are great! I made 3 gallons for presents-putting them into jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States