Texas Christmas Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I tried these and they turned out great ,as long as I used the cheap brand of dill pickles ,whether I made strips out of whole ones, or ,the sliced ones , (both of the "cheap" ones came from Sam's), when I tried recipe using "Claussen" Dill Strips they turned out shriveled and limp, They still had a good taste , but were not crunchy ! My friends and family love the cheap, crunchy ones ,to those who like them hotter, I add a couple of red peppers, makes them pretty ,too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These pickles are awesome. I've been searching for a recipe like this for months! I made them at Christmas and they were a big hit. I just made my 2nd batch the other day. I did make a couple of changes...I used the sliced dill pickles. I used about 5-6 oz of jalapeno juice instead of tabasco. (from a jar of pickled jalapeno's)I also added about 1 1/2 cups of sliced jalapeno's (I had to remove some pickles to make room.) 4 1/2 cups of sugar was all I used as well. These were so crisp! I've had several requests for the recipe. These are excellent with grilled cheese sandwiches and burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have been making these at Xmas and giving them as gifts for years. (Had no idea I wasn't alone)! These pickles really are delicious and fun to make, jar, label, and distribute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Note: sugar pulls out the moisture from the drained pickles. If your pickle spears come out too shrunken, cut the amount of sugar. One or two reviews said they cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
What a nice surprise! I made these as Christmas Gifts and they were great. People look for them yearly now. I used large dill pickles and cut them into spears. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was told about these pickles by a friend. Was so very happy to find the recipe on your site. What a wonderful gift for my employees at Christmas Time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My family loves these pickles! I add a few quartered jalapeno peppers for heat. I also used half the sugar called for with no discernable change in taste. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were YUMMY! I will make these all the time. Everyone I gave to liked them! Great easy recipe! Thank You! I did split the batch in half after they were done, and I put a few habaneros in one half of the batch. This gave them a huge boost in spicyness, if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Good flavor but they were limp and looked like they were just the peel left to them all curled up. Not very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Oh my gosh, fabulous! I will be making these every year for my Christmas gift baskets. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States