Texas Chocolate Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
one of my moms staples...she told me to spread a thin layer of peanut butter as soon as the cake is done. then the glaze/icing...talk about a hit with my family. no picture...they devoured it to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
With last minute plans for a total of 7 coming to dinner, I had about 90 minutes to make a dessert large enough (and good enough) for all. Made this cake, but didn't have a jelly roll pan or any sour cream. SO...I used a large glass baking pan (approx. 10x15x2) and susbstituted 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt plus one egg yolk for the sour cream. I also used butter instead of margarine. Cooked it for about 25 to 30 minutes, until toothpick in the center came out clean. I was afraid to spread the frosting on the hot cake but it was very easy and didn't rip the cake. This was BEYOND a hit with 4 teenagers, and the adults raved about how the icing "melting" into the top of the cake made it incredibly moist. Definitely a keeper for my chocolate craving dessert nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachel
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
After pouring on the icing, I immediately sprinkled chocolate chips and peanutbutter chips on top, waited about 5 minutes and swirled it around with a fork to give it abit of a marble effect...LOVE the mild peanutty taste added to this delicious chocolate masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I had never baked a cake from scratch. This one was easy and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is traditionally a family favorite at our house. Even though I have never seen a recipe in print call for it, I was raised to always put one teaspoon of cinnamon into the flour mixture before blending. That is was gives it that Tex/Mex zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My family loves this cake! They request it every time we have a get together! Easy too!! Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Easy, uses ingredients usually on hand, tastes great. (Esp ifyou love chocolate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States