Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This frosting is delicious! I made a double-layer chocolate cake and then used 1.5 times the ingredients for the frosting, and I had quite a bit of frosting left over! MMMmmm... and it goes great on graham crackers too! (a great treat for your kid's lunch box in case you ahve never tried it - chocolate frosting/graham cracker sandwiches - just like mom used to make!). Five stars! (FYI: I used evaported milk so it wouldn't spoil if left out on the counter, and the frosting tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Incredible! Why would you ever buy the canned stuff again? I didn't melt the butter, just let it come to room temperature and added 1-2 tablespoons more milk. Will definately use this as my frosting of choice from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a really good, chocolately frosting. I needed this to fill thumbprint cookies I made earlier today. I did alter the measurments a bit. I used a 1/2 cup of milk and 3/4 cup of cocoa powder. The chocolate taste was not over powering by any means...it actually gave it sort of a fudgy texture which we really enjoyed. I have made this in the past and substituted brewed coffee for the milk. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This frosting was amazing. I made some Peanut Butter Cupcakes, recipe found on this site, piped this frosting onto them. They were so delicious. I did add about 2 tbls more milk to get the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good frosting. Be aware, though, that it is quite thick. After cooking it I had to whip vigorously and pour it on the cake quickly. It hardened to a lovely, almost crunchy texture. I had it on yellow cake but it would definitely go well on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was so pleased with this! Because I was using it to pipe onto cupcakes and I wasn’t sure how that would work with melting the butter first, I didn’t. In addition, I used butter rather than margarine and just three cups of confectioners’ sugar. It was light, fluffy, and unmistakably chocolate. I know it would have been darker, more fudgy looking, had I melted the butter, and I’m anxious to try it that way on brownies or a sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I loved this icing! I didn't have quite enough margarine, so I used a little crisco to make up the difference and I didn't melt them though, I cut it into chunks and then used the mixer to whip the icing until fluffy. I needed to add a little more milk as it was really thick to spread. The second time I made this I used all margarine and still had to add more milk than specified. This is very good frosting, nice and thick a bit sweet so I added some more cocoa powder to tone down the sugar some. Good stuff, I'll use this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
just what i was looking for. i made mine with vanilla soy milk (all i had on hand) and it worked well. the cinnamon is vital, in my opinion. i put this on banana bread because that is all i had to put icing on and it was g o o d. i like that is is made with things i always have in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Easy to make. Tasted good. Although, I did have to add some more milk to make it the right consistency to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineD
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and it work wonderfully for my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States