Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This frosting is delicious! I made a double-layer chocolate cake and then used 1.5 times the ingredients for the frosting, and I had quite a bit of frosting left over! MMMmmm... and it goes great on graham crackers too! (a great treat for your kid's lunch box in case you ahve never tried it - chocolate frosting/graham cracker sandwiches - just like mom used to make!). Five stars! (FYI: I used evaported milk so it wouldn't spoil if left out on the counter, and the frosting tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Incredible! Why would you ever buy the canned stuff again? I didn't melt the butter, just let it come to room temperature and added 1-2 tablespoons more milk. Will definately use this as my frosting of choice from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a really good, chocolately frosting. I needed this to fill thumbprint cookies I made earlier today. I did alter the measurments a bit. I used a 1/2 cup of milk and 3/4 cup of cocoa powder. The chocolate taste was not over powering by any means...it actually gave it sort of a fudgy texture which we really enjoyed. I have made this in the past and substituted brewed coffee for the milk. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This frosting was amazing. I made some Peanut Butter Cupcakes, recipe found on this site, piped this frosting onto them. They were so delicious. I did add about 2 tbls more milk to get the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good frosting. Be aware, though, that it is quite thick. After cooking it I had to whip vigorously and pour it on the cake quickly. It hardened to a lovely, almost crunchy texture. I had it on yellow cake but it would definitely go well on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was so pleased with this! Because I was using it to pipe onto cupcakes and I wasn’t sure how that would work with melting the butter first, I didn’t. In addition, I used butter rather than margarine and just three cups of confectioners’ sugar. It was light, fluffy, and unmistakably chocolate. I know it would have been darker, more fudgy looking, had I melted the butter, and I’m anxious to try it that way on brownies or a sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I loved this icing! I didn't have quite enough margarine, so I used a little crisco to make up the difference and I didn't melt them though, I cut it into chunks and then used the mixer to whip the icing until fluffy. I needed to add a little more milk as it was really thick to spread. The second time I made this I used all margarine and still had to add more milk than specified. This is very good frosting, nice and thick a bit sweet so I added some more cocoa powder to tone down the sugar some. Good stuff, I'll use this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
just what i was looking for. i made mine with vanilla soy milk (all i had on hand) and it worked well. the cinnamon is vital, in my opinion. i put this on banana bread because that is all i had to put icing on and it was g o o d. i like that is is made with things i always have in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Easy to make. Tasted good. Although, I did have to add some more milk to make it the right consistency to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineD
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and it work wonderfully for my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States