Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yummilicious :). Will never buy icing in a can again. Thanks for sharing with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Waaaaaaay too sweet & crunchy. Not smooth and creamy as frosting should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious frosting!!! The only change that I made was that I added a teaspoon of almond extract. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Tried making this frosting twice. It turned hard rather quickly and was also very chunky. The second time I made it I tried sifting the confectioner's sugar to see if that would help, but it didn't. It tastes pretty good, but it's chunky and hard to spread on cake without the cake crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Love this but made key changes!!!! 1) dbled the recipe for a large 2 layer cake 2) used room temp BUTTER 3) used twice the ammount of cocoa and only 5 1/2 cups of icing sugar ( remember I dbled the recipe ) 4) used 1/2 milk suggested and added same volume of cold strong coffee...any additional liquid needed to smooth out the frosting was cold coffee....I couldnt keep my teenagers away from the beaters and bowl and because of this I BARELY had enough for my cake ( "but mum, that corner doesnt NEED icing " as they licked their spoons and dipped for more )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I put mine over just a bit of heat while stirring, and it was a very spreadable consistency. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
A lovely tasting icing though it was a bit coarse. I would do it again. I added a drop milk to it to get it to the right consistency but overall it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luca01324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This had a great flavor and next time I might add the cinnamon as Norma suggests. I would mention that once the butter is melted you should remove it from the heat before adding the rest of the ingredients. My icing turned into a large lump and was a bit thick, but that is easily remedied by adding a bit more milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is my basic chocolate frosting recipe. It's good on cakes, cookies, cupcakes...... I like it because I always have the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Much too sweet! I had to add twice the amount of cocoa and slightly less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States