Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
OK I didn't read the instructions as I was in a hurry. I didn't see I was supposed to melt the margarine. I had mine at room temp & it worked perfectly! Wasn't gritty. Came out nice & fluffly! Love it! ...did add a little extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
AWESOME!!! Very easy, yummy, and turns a light brown for great contrast to the dark chocolate cake. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Works great for cake balls too! Serving size is 32 ounces though. Make half a recipe for 1 box of cake. If you don't melt the butter, your frosting will be grainier than not. I tried it both ways, and the melting works best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe! Very easy to make. Only thing that I changed was adding 2 extra tablespoons of milk. (was to thick) But that is just a personal thing. Great flavor, and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I absolutly love this recipe! Turns out perfect every time I make it! Thank you so much, Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yummilicious :). Will never buy icing in a can again. Thanks for sharing with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Waaaaaaay too sweet & crunchy. Not smooth and creamy as frosting should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious frosting!!! The only change that I made was that I added a teaspoon of almond extract. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Tried making this frosting twice. It turned hard rather quickly and was also very chunky. The second time I made it I tried sifting the confectioner's sugar to see if that would help, but it didn't. It tastes pretty good, but it's chunky and hard to spread on cake without the cake crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Love this but made key changes!!!! 1) dbled the recipe for a large 2 layer cake 2) used room temp BUTTER 3) used twice the ammount of cocoa and only 5 1/2 cups of icing sugar ( remember I dbled the recipe ) 4) used 1/2 milk suggested and added same volume of cold strong coffee...any additional liquid needed to smooth out the frosting was cold coffee....I couldnt keep my teenagers away from the beaters and bowl and because of this I BARELY had enough for my cake ( "but mum, that corner doesnt NEED icing " as they licked their spoons and dipped for more )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States