Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It tasted good, but the consistency was too thin. I had to pour it on the cake and it dribbled down the sides. Adding more powdered sugar didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Even though I've tried some other frosting recipes and liked them, it seems as it's been hard trying to find just the right one for me. I do believe this is it!! I made some homeade doughnuts with a recipe I had gotten on this site, and made this frosting to top some of them with. It's a bit of a thicker frosting, I think, but perfect for doughnuts as it melts down a little when spredding on them warm. I doubled the baking cocoa and added a little extra vanilla and a little extra milk at a time until I achieved the right consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Tastes very yummy! To make it creamier...just add extra milk...I added about triple the amount of milk so it didn't tear the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a really good chocolate frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Galena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I think it is supposed to be put on warm brownies. the frosting is suppose to set up like a ganache to those commentors who were unhappy with the texture. If you want soft frosting do a buttercream recipe. Thank you for sticking the recipe on all recipe I had lost my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was so pleased with this! Because I was using it to pipe onto cupcakes and I wasn’t sure how that would work with melting the butter first, I didn’t. In addition, I used butter rather than margarine and just three cups of confectioners’ sugar. It was light, fluffy, and unmistakably chocolate. I know it would have been darker, more fudgy looking, had I melted the butter, and I’m anxious to try it that way on brownies or a sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe is really, really good. I don't generally like chocolate frosting because its too heavy, but this one is really light and delicious! I used dairy-free margarine (dairy-allergy) and then I whipped it with my mixer for several minutes until it was light and fluffy. Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing! It topped my chocolate muffins perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
i liked this recipe a lot it was nice and creamy and just the right flavor. I hope you like it. i almost forgot instead of margarine i put the same amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Wanted icing for Cream Filled Cupcakes and this was perfect. I ran out of powdered sugar, so I only used 3 and about a 1/4 cups, but it was still terrific. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Simple, quick, easy, delicious! I made this in less than 10 mins to frost some brownies last-minute. But I only put in 2 cups of sugar, stopped there as it was still quite sweet that way (I live in New Zealand now and they don't like frostings as sweet here) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States