Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made the frosting to use on black-bean brownies. I used extra-virgin coconut oil instead of the margarine. Just place a cup with the coconut oil (if you have the solid version)in the sink or another container of warm water and the oil will melt quickly. Use extra-virgin because it has more of a coconut taste. I halved the recipe and had plenty for my 8x8 pan of brownies. I had to gradually add more milk to get the consistency of soft frosting. The amount in the recipe wasn't enough. My kids loved this frosting and it gave sweetness to the black bean brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This made enough to generously ice a 9x13 pan of brownies. At first I made it as written, but only half a recipe. It was too sweet for me, so I increased everything so that I ended up with the full recipe, except just over half the amount of sugar, and lots of extra cocoa. I liked it that way better. I also know from past experience that substituting brewed coffee for the milk is amazing, I just didn't have any coffee. I would do that next time if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I followed this recipe to a "T"! Delicious! I used it on a yellow box cake. I always test new frosting recipes on box cakes. If it's a keeper then I'll bake a cake from scratch. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Next time I will double it though. As written it's not really enough to adequately frost a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This tasted really good! It was incredibly easy to make too. I added about 2 more tablespoons of milk to make it a more spreadable consistency. It wasn't too sweet and it tasted great on a yellow cake. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Only added half the sugar. Taste great to me! Put over a chocolate cake that was in a pan, so the runny consistency didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Best icing I've made. Put it on while its warm. Sets up nicely. Delicious!!! Easy to make. I made half the recipe for an 8x8 pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This frosting was incredibly easy to make and tastes absolutely divine. I give it 2 big thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this frosting to use on a Texas Sheet Cake and it was super tasty. I normally like it a bit thicker so next time I will use a little more powdered sugar and cocoa, but even as written, everyone raved over it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Easy, yummy, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States