Texas Chicken Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. Served with Chicken Tortilla Soup and Southwestern Egg Rolls as a starter for a casual dinner party. Assembled the quesadillas and baked half per the recipe and then pan fried half. NOTE: to keep the ingredients from oozing out, fold the quesadilla in half taco style ~ when finished cooking, let the quesadilla "set" for 1 or 2 minutes, then use a pizza cutter to divide into triangles. Didn't tell the group which was which and they voted hands down for the pan fried, which I actually preferred too.... Doubled the cheese and used a mix of Cheddar, Monterey Jack and Pepper Jack cheese with the carmelized onion and BBQ chicken. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I wanted to like this, I really did, but the taste and texture of the BBQ sauce in a quesadilla just wasn't my liking. I probably will not make this again; however, if you really enjoy BBQ sauce and don't think you'll mind the gooey texture then go for it! I followed the recipe exactly as written and recommend doubling the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Yum, Yum! The barbecue sauce does a lot for the quesadillas and gives it a real kick. My sautéed onions turned out a little burnt, but they still tasted great. (Sometimes things taste better burnt!) I savored every bite, especially when I got a chunk of onion!! It's like they were carmelized by the honey. The only thing I would change is the cooking time in the oven. It only took 5 minutes for the cheese to melt and for the tortilla to start turning crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Outstanding! These were absolutely wonderful and delicious. I prepared the recipe just exactly as mentioned. No problems at all and the results were out of this world. Someone commented on the BBQ sauce, etc...THESE ARE TITLED "TEXAS CHICKEN QUESADILLAS", Texas=BBQ!! Anyone who might be wondering, give them a try just like the recipe calls for. You won't be sorry. Thanks Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Great idea recipe but I've made it a bit easier and quicker. Used leftover cooked chicken, chopped, and one jalapeno pepper,finely chopped. Mixed that with enough BQQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's) to coat. Spread enough of that mixture to cover one half of a large tortilla. Sprinkle with some Monteray/Cheddar cheeses and fold over. Cook in a skillet sprayed with cooking spray. Spray top side of tortilla while bottom cooks and flip when brown. Brown bottom side and serve topped with chopped green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nascar3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
AWESOME!!! The caramelized onions is the key to really making these taste great! I was out of bottled bbq sauce so I found 2 recipes to try on this site. The "Carolina low carb bbq sauce" and "Dave's bbq sauce". Since this recipe was called "Texas" quesadillas, I figured the bbq sauce had to be a red, sweet sauce. I baked covered in the oven the first 10 minutes for a slightly softer quesadilla. I liked the red bbq sauce but LOVED, LOVED the "Carolina low card bbq sauce (a savory sweet yellow mustard) on these!!! I will definitely make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
What a great, unique idea! On paper, this recipe didn't sound to amazing but these were a pleasant surprise!! They were so popular that I had to make a second batch to follow the first. The first time, I followed the recipe to the letter. The second time, I added more chicken - skipped the onion saute part and did the "taco" thing (I agree with the former reviewer = less oozey and were easier to cut). BUT on the second batch, I did add some minced green onions. Both times great! Thanks Michelle for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
These quesadillas came out great! I did have to make some modifications though--I doubled the amount of cheese that the recipie called for and halved the onion and the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
a tasty barbeque version of a mexican favorite. It was so easy to make and turned out very nicely. I used three chicken breasts instead of two for more meat. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
These were quick and delicious. We made them on low-fat wheat tortillas with reduced fat shredded cheese. My husband liked them, so I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States