Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
i've made this several times and everyone raves about it! Instead of 2 cans of black beans, I only put 1 but I add 1 can of corn. Also, I only add the dressing just enough to coat everything. Otherwise it gets too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Very yummy! I made the italian dressing called for from the recipe on this site, "Italian dressing mix." I highly recommend it! I also used less onion, and it came out great!!!! Served with cheesy doritos, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Everytime we go to a party, this is what my DH requests me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good, just what I was looking for. Classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was skeptical about the Italian dressing, but this was SO good. I let it marinate overnight without, then drained the excess dressing and added the avacado right before the party...it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
When I went to store on New Year's Day they were out of canned black eyed peas, so I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen peas instead. I put them in a pot of salted water, brought them to a boil, and then reduced to a simmer and simmered for 30 minutes. Then I drained them, and added everything but the avocado. I also added cilantro and green onion. I was also afraid that I couldn't chop the jalapeno fine enough and I wanted the heat and flavor without anyone getting a chunk of jalapeno, so I blended the chopped jalapeno with the cup of salad dressing, and it also seemed to thicken the salad dressing a little, and reduce the "soupiness" others talked about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I do a variation of this recipe! The exact recipe is good, but I do not add Tomatoes or jalapeno, and I do add corn and green peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tastes great! Everyone loved it. I will have to double the recipe next family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Quick and easy and perfect for a potluck. I made everything but the avocados the night before my office potluck and then added them in the morning. It was great because it gave me a little extra time to ripen the avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I've made this before, but not with avocado...what a yummy addition! I also added one bell pepper. This was so good and refreshing from the normal 'dip'. Excellent on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States