Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this for my office potluck. I used a mixed of black beans and red beans instead of black eye peas. I made it the night before without the avocado then added it in right before serving. I didn't like the soupiness so I used a slotted spoon before I served it to get the juices out. And ...It turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laddavan
Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this for a carry-in at work and everyone loved it. I added 2 tbsp fresh cilantro and a few sliced green onions I had on hand as well as a sweet red onion. Perfect for this time of year when the tomatoes are fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Spicy and sweet! I really enjoyed this. I used fat-free italian dressing and added a bunch of cilantro that I chopped up. This is good with or without the avocados. If using the avocado, pour some lime juice over it before adding it to the mixture so it doesn't brown up right away. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Made this recently for a BBQ and it was quite a hit. It does make quite a bit. I might halve the recipe next time. I also added the juice of one lime. Seemed like it needed a little citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Great veggie dish, filling and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The italian dressing did not blend well with the the fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I just love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I added some cilantro and a splash of lime, and used about two ounces of Italian dressing. This will become a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
i've made this several times and everyone raves about it! Instead of 2 cans of black beans, I only put 1 but I add 1 can of corn. Also, I only add the dressing just enough to coat everything. Otherwise it gets too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Very yummy! I made the italian dressing called for from the recipe on this site, "Italian dressing mix." I highly recommend it! I also used less onion, and it came out great!!!! Served with cheesy doritos, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States