Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this last night for my husband and myself, and we could not get enough. It is DELICIOUS! I have made similar salads but this one was unique with the black-eyed peas and the avocado. The only variations I made were to use one can black-eyed peas and one of black beans (as the recipe submitter mentioned in their review), and we added some fresh cilantro (about 1/2 c) as another reviewer suggested b/c we are big cilantro fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I wish I could give this 10 stars....you feel like you are eating health-from-a-garden, and yet, sneaking an incredible-it-has-to=be-bad-for=you snack! I make this often, and it makes a lot...thre is never any left. It takes time to prepare, because of all the chopping and such. I tend to leave out the jalapeno and rely on the cayenne for just a hint of hot. I also add a chopped,sweet, red bell pepper and crisp sweet white corn. I make Good Season Italian dressing, which tastes so much better and is better, for you and I add chopped cilantro and a fresh lime squeezed over the top. Thanks you for this recipe! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon 'Donovan' Seifert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wonderful dip. Never thought a combination like that would taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was absolutely amazing. I was really hesitant because I usually only make things that contain somekind of cheese! I made this exactly as described in the recipe. The only one thing I did different was after it was made, I transferred everything to a new bowl and got rid of a lot of the extra liquid. It was still a little watery when people were scraping the bowl, but it was definitely a hit. Thanks for such a great recipe. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Love this recipe!! I made it the night before, and brought it camping. unfortunately i forgot the avocado at home, but it was delicious. everyone loved it. very quick and easy to throw together. and cheap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The group I served this to loved it. It was different and nobody else had brought anything new so it was a big hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! This is so delicious. Holds well together even after three days. I used one can of black-eye peas and one can of black beans and kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tastes great even without the avocado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I cant say enough about this one! I made it for our new years eve party and it was such a hit that I had an empty bowl before midnight! I didnt change anything in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yummy recipe. I substituted a can of black beans and a can of sweet corn for the black-eyed peas and added about 1/2 cup chopped red bell peppers. My husband can't keep his hands off it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States