Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is so awesome--I usually double the recipe because it disappears so fast! I do add a finely minced habanero in addition to a little red and green jalapeno because we like the spice (and the colors are beautiful!). I make it in a stainless steel serving bowl so it stays nice and cold while folks are eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
LOVE this recipe! Good on crackers and chips, we didn't have the avocados but it was good even without them. This will be a good football dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this for a party where I knew the majority would be vegetarians. They ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
So easy that when I was done making it I was disappointed, sure it couldn't live up to the rave reviews. Never happier to be so wrong! This was delicious! I'm not a fan of jalepeno or avocado, but even I couldn't stop eating it! I served it Bruchetta-style, and that worked well. Next time I'll do tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Although I make a lot of changes to this recipe, this is still the recipe I come back to as a starting point when I make my Texas Caviar. First of all, we use black beans instead of black eyed peas. I often use canned tomatoes, sometimes rotel. We add some cilantro, a little cumin, and some garlic powder. Throw in some corn! I make this about once a week and my family loves it. Sometimes that is our main dish on a busy weekend night, everyone nibbles at will. This is great with "Scoops" tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Amazing! We accidently didn't buy enough black eyed peas (which btw are hard to find in Vancouver!) but it tasted amazing anyways. Might always make it with 20 ounces instad of 31!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Really good for our senior Happy Hours. I add a bit of minced garlic to zest it up, if Avocado is not always avaliable, I throw in some drained canned corn. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This dip is so fresh and tasty! All of my friends raved about it at our Superbowl party; many people wanted the recipe. It is also very light and healthy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I was absolutely surprised by this one! I've heard of this kind of recipe before but was afraid to try it because I remember not liking black-eyed peas when I was a kid. But, boy, I couldn't stop eating this one! I did substite 1 can of the peas for 1 can of black beans. It was a great taste. Thanks for getting my taste buds to be more adventurous, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was the hit of my party! Everyone wanted this recipe! I did substitute Low cal Ital. dressing by mixing it half and half with regular Italian. Also, did not know th wear gloves when I chopped the Jalapeno peppers which caused my fingers to burn a bit. My Mexican guest clued me in on this tip and also told me if you want it hotter include some of the veins from the Jalapeno as this is where the hot comes from in the Jalapeno. Definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States