Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very nice. Made this today and DH and I enjoyed it. I used Rotel in place of the onions, tomatoes and jalapenos, and zesty italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
One of my favorite dips, sooo delicious! I substitute chopped green onion for the sweet onion and add a clove of minced garlic. Such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Looooove this dish. Add some fresh cilantro, a little garlic and a splash of lime juice for freshness if you'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is so awesome--I usually double the recipe because it disappears so fast! I do add a finely minced habanero in addition to a little red and green jalapeno because we like the spice (and the colors are beautiful!). I make it in a stainless steel serving bowl so it stays nice and cold while folks are eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
LOVE this recipe! Good on crackers and chips, we didn't have the avocados but it was good even without them. This will be a good football dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this for a party where I knew the majority would be vegetarians. They ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
So easy that when I was done making it I was disappointed, sure it couldn't live up to the rave reviews. Never happier to be so wrong! This was delicious! I'm not a fan of jalepeno or avocado, but even I couldn't stop eating it! I served it Bruchetta-style, and that worked well. Next time I'll do tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Although I make a lot of changes to this recipe, this is still the recipe I come back to as a starting point when I make my Texas Caviar. First of all, we use black beans instead of black eyed peas. I often use canned tomatoes, sometimes rotel. We add some cilantro, a little cumin, and some garlic powder. Throw in some corn! I make this about once a week and my family loves it. Sometimes that is our main dish on a busy weekend night, everyone nibbles at will. This is great with "Scoops" tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Amazing! We accidently didn't buy enough black eyed peas (which btw are hard to find in Vancouver!) but it tasted amazing anyways. Might always make it with 20 ounces instad of 31!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Really good for our senior Happy Hours. I add a bit of minced garlic to zest it up, if Avocado is not always avaliable, I throw in some drained canned corn. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States