Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good, just what I was looking for. Classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was skeptical about the Italian dressing, but this was SO good. I let it marinate overnight without, then drained the excess dressing and added the avacado right before the party...it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
When I went to store on New Year's Day they were out of canned black eyed peas, so I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen peas instead. I put them in a pot of salted water, brought them to a boil, and then reduced to a simmer and simmered for 30 minutes. Then I drained them, and added everything but the avocado. I also added cilantro and green onion. I was also afraid that I couldn't chop the jalapeno fine enough and I wanted the heat and flavor without anyone getting a chunk of jalapeno, so I blended the chopped jalapeno with the cup of salad dressing, and it also seemed to thicken the salad dressing a little, and reduce the "soupiness" others talked about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I do a variation of this recipe! The exact recipe is good, but I do not add Tomatoes or jalapeno, and I do add corn and green peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Tastes great! Everyone loved it. I will have to double the recipe next family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Quick and easy and perfect for a potluck. I made everything but the avocados the night before my office potluck and then added them in the morning. It was great because it gave me a little extra time to ripen the avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I've made this before, but not with avocado...what a yummy addition! I also added one bell pepper. This was so good and refreshing from the normal 'dip'. Excellent on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was a big hit at out 4th of July party. I even got my husband to say he enjoyed it and he is so picky. The avocado was great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I thought this had a very good taste, but it was a little bit too soupy for my taste. Next time I would probably cut back on the italian dressing a bit and add some lime juice and corn to make it a little prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Oh Yummo! I used one can of black beans and one of the black eyed peas, jarred jalapenos since the FDA currently has the ban on fresh ones, and reduced fat Kraft zesty italian dressing and this is really one awesome recipe. I left out the cayenne and it had just enough kick without making you reach for water. Definitely a pot-luck type dip and we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States