Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made a half recipe of this today and it tasted so good. I made one change. I used black beans because I didn't have any black eyed peas on hand. I put the mixture on top French bread that I cut on the bias, toasted under the broiler. Rubbed half a head of garlic against each piece and then brushed just a bit of EVOO on it. Made a wonderful topping for brochette. I'll keep this one for future use for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Great recipe, I couldnt find black eyed peas so I used 2 cans of black beans. Also only used 1/2 cup of italian dressing, a handfull of chopped cilantro, and 3 avacados beccause we love them! this was GREAT! will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeproductions

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I dislike black eyed peas, so I substituted them for 1 can of Black beans, rinsed and 1 can of dark red kidney beans, rinsed. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Wonderful twist on dip, period! Love the addition of the avocado. This is another really big hit in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Took this to a girls night at my sister in laws house. Everyone loved it. I substituted apple cider vinegar and EVOO in place of the italian dressing and black beans in place of black eyed peas. Very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I thought this version tasted like I was eating Italian Dressing and the avocados turn to mush too fast. I much prefer a dressing made from vinegar, sugar, salt & pepper, Save your avocados for guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Healthy awesome dip. I didn't have tomatoes as they are out of season for good tomatoes so used a can of diced tomatoes and drained the juice (save that for another recipe). I used a can of green chili peppers and only 1/2 cup of Italian dressing and it was very nice. Yes, I used 1 can of black-eyed peas and 1 can of black beans which makes it more colorful and fun. Make sure you drain and rinse these first. I had some red pepper also so I added about 1/4 cup of chopped red peppers. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I am not from the south and don't care for black-eyed peas. That said... the reviews enticed me to make it for Bunko. I had some for dinner and was already hoping for some tomorrows lunch. It initially looks like you've made alot! Bunko girls loved it and needless to say there wasn't a drop to save for my lunch!!!! Loved how fresh it was. Next time I will try the Wish bone Fat Free dressing just to see if it can still taste soooo good and be sooo good for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! I added a can of corn to make it more colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This turned out really nice...I used one can of chick peas and one of kidney beans because that's what I had, also used a balsamic vinagrette instead of regular Italian. I made this for a quick dinner and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States