Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This dip is so fresh and tasty! All of my friends raved about it at our Superbowl party; many people wanted the recipe. It is also very light and healthy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I was absolutely surprised by this one! I've heard of this kind of recipe before but was afraid to try it because I remember not liking black-eyed peas when I was a kid. But, boy, I couldn't stop eating this one! I did substite 1 can of the peas for 1 can of black beans. It was a great taste. Thanks for getting my taste buds to be more adventurous, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was the hit of my party! Everyone wanted this recipe! I did substitute Low cal Ital. dressing by mixing it half and half with regular Italian. Also, did not know th wear gloves when I chopped the Jalapeno peppers which caused my fingers to burn a bit. My Mexican guest clued me in on this tip and also told me if you want it hotter include some of the veins from the Jalapeno as this is where the hot comes from in the Jalapeno. Definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was great! I added a small can of corn and it was a big hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My 5, 14, and 16 year-olds wolfed this down and asked for more. Quick to make and rich with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Brophy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I made it for a party and it was gone very fast. It's very simple to make and tastes great! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I have made this several times, and everytime it has been raved about. Some people look at it skeptically at first, but once they try it they are won over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Also, you can omit avocado if its really hot out, and substitute zuchinni. Fabulous and won't brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Goldammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
"The Best"! Try this one - you'll like it. If by some miracle you have any left over, experiement with some of your favorite add-ins like a bit of shredded meat, a spoonful of sour. cream, chopped black olives and stuff into a corn tortilla or pita for lunch. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was great even though I left out the peas and jalapenos...and I just used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States