Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was great! I added a small can of corn and it was a big hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My 5, 14, and 16 year-olds wolfed this down and asked for more. Quick to make and rich with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I made it for a party and it was gone very fast. It's very simple to make and tastes great! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I have made this several times, and everytime it has been raved about. Some people look at it skeptically at first, but once they try it they are won over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Also, you can omit avocado if its really hot out, and substitute zuchinni. Fabulous and won't brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Goldammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
"The Best"! Try this one - you'll like it. If by some miracle you have any left over, experiement with some of your favorite add-ins like a bit of shredded meat, a spoonful of sour. cream, chopped black olives and stuff into a corn tortilla or pita for lunch. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was great even though I left out the peas and jalapenos...and I just used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was a big hit. I used one can of black eyed peas and one can of black beans. Next time I will use more pepper or jalapeno to give it a little more kick. I also used more avacado than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was so delicious and easy to make! We had to omit the avacado (they were unripe) and added 1/2 c. of fresh chopped cilantro - served them with Fritos Scoops and everyone thought it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Delightful as is. The medley of ingredients were appetizing looking and delicious! I may mash up the black-eyed peas (only) in the food processor next time to see if it's a little more traditional dip-like. Fantastic way to eat beans (peas). Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States