Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This is excellent-can't get enough! To make a little easier I used a can of petit diced tomatoes with jalepenos and I didn't have any coriander but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I'm only 14,but I have learned to cook from the best.The best being my family.I love this recipie!It really isn't that diffcult either.I was making it once and my family thought it look like a whole bunch of moosh,but with one bite everyone loved it!Even my brothers and they are very picky about what they eat!I give this recipie 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Excellent, but like other suggest, cut the dressing by one-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This makes a LOT of dip! Make sure it is a big party! It was really good though. We had to take it to our New Year's Eve party in the trunk though because the smell will knock you over. I think a little bit of lime juice would add something. I didn't use the coriander either and I don't think we missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Excellent recipe! Will be a New Years Day must! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This was a VERY good recipe and I will definitely make it again. I tasted it before and after I added the cilantro and I liked it better without (even though I love cilantro). I will either leave it out next time or at least cut back on the amount it calls for because it really over-powered the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This always goes fast. I omitted the green bell pepper and coriander and added a can of whole kernal corn to the mix. I have used dried cilantro instead of fresh and it is pretty darn good as well. It is really a tasty and refreshing dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
We have a lot of poker parties and this is always a big hit. Our friends are actually dissappointed when I choose to make something else. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
WOW! What a big hit! At my dinner club, this was the recipe that the guests wanted to take home with them. I kicked it up a little with more jalapeno and garlic but other than that this recipe is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I made this in addition to my "famous" salsa, and everyone preferred this!! Including me! I added a whole onion, a can of diced jalepenos, and no cilantro. I couldn't wait to try it, so marinating it for an hour didn't happen. In my opinion, it didn't need it. It was pretty much gone in an hour anyway! Very good. Will be a staple at all bar-b-ques from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States