Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This is really good, a refreshing difference from bottled salsa. I did add corn to ours. We also decided this tasted better the next day, but the dressing was too strong tasting after only a couple of hours. So I tried it again with 1/2 Italian dressing and 1/2 roasted red pepper vinegret dressing. We really liked that. I also used red, yellow and orange bell peppers, and a couple of times a bit of avacado. I Will definitely be using the recipe regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I originally tasted this while living in San Antonio. The recipe I was given used 1 each green, yellow and red bell peppers, and diced tomatoes instead to make it easier to scoop and dip. Looks like confetti - great for a party! One thing is missing: be sure to add a can of hominy. Serve with Frito's for true Texas flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Delicious! To make easier, I use can of petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I made this for a barbeque tonight. I added a few extra jalapenos and no coriander because I didn't have any and put just a bit of dried cilantro. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
yum, tasty and lively presentation with all the different bright colors. One change I made was to substitute the black beans for a small can of mexi-corn, otherwise I thought it to "beany". Also, used a red onion instead of yellow. Substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes drained for fresh, (just for ease). I also seeded the jalapeno peppers so it wasn't too hot. Serve with corn chips for the authentic texas way. Great party appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I crave this stuff! It goes great with a cold beer!!!! I could eat it for a meal. It is yummilicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I made this recipe as stated, and it was wonderful. I made with fat free dressing, and a co-worker made this recipe with regular dressing, and it tastes much better with the regular dressing. Wonderful recipe! Need to let it sit for a couple hours to let the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I added a can of mexicorn and it was delicious! Will probably add more garlic and some lime juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This appetizer is so great. I make it for all my cookouts...people beg for the recipe! Really unique subsititute for plain old chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Great for a party. A very hearty dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States