Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Not the best version, but still good. Needs corn though & a little more green pepper (just a preference). Also- don't waste a good vinaigrette. It's way better with plain, cheap Italian dressing! I ended up rinsing off the vinaigrette & using apple cider vinegar and olive oil because I didn't have Italian, but still not as good as Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Texas Caviar I Haiku: "Words cannot describe, just how amazing this was! Was a party hit." I chilled mine longer in the fridge than 2 hrs. which made it better (and even better yet, hrs. after our party ended and we went sniggling at what few leftovers remained.) We ate our's w/ Fritos' Scoops, and couldn't have been happier w/ the results. Just. Wow. Really. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I get asked for this recipe all the time and it's so easy to make! I add some white frozen corn and a serrano peppers for a little more heat. LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Perfect as written! I did add in some black beans and subbed orange bell peppers for the green just because I wanted the colors. It was a MAJOR hit at a party and I couldn't have been happier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I've been eating this for years and had no idea it was so easy to put together! Instead of using bottled dressing I made my own Italian dressing from the Italian Dressing Mix recipe from this website. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very delicious. I used fat free zesty italian dressing and added a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I used good seasons zesty italian dressing mix and used balsamic vinegar instead. The taste was wonderful and everyone at the part enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is such a refreshing dish.. I love it for lunch with corn chips and a cold drink. Takes the place of a more filling heavy dish. Also great as a dip for a little get together. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This can be used as a side dish or a salsa or a topping for fish or chicken. Very versatile! You can use fat free dressing without sacrificing taste in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Loved this dish. And it does get better as it sits. Only used half bottle of the salad dressing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States