Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
yum, tasty and lively presentation with all the different bright colors. One change I made was to substitute the black beans for a small can of mexi-corn, otherwise I thought it to "beany". Also, used a red onion instead of yellow. Substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes drained for fresh, (just for ease). I also seeded the jalapeno peppers so it wasn't too hot. Serve with corn chips for the authentic texas way. Great party appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I originally tasted this while living in San Antonio. The recipe I was given used 1 each green, yellow and red bell peppers, and diced tomatoes instead to make it easier to scoop and dip. Looks like confetti - great for a party! One thing is missing: be sure to add a can of hominy. Serve with Frito's for true Texas flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This appetizer is so great. I make it for all my cookouts...people beg for the recipe! Really unique subsititute for plain old chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Wonderful and fresh taste! I did substitue pinto beans for the black, and added a couple of cups of grated jack/cheddar mix cheese. What a great, cool dish to serve this summer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This recipe was soooo good! My husband is not a big fan of beans so I doubles the amount of tomatoes. He called it "restaurant quailty". Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I made this in addition to my "famous" salsa, and everyone preferred this!! Including me! I added a whole onion, a can of diced jalepenos, and no cilantro. I couldn't wait to try it, so marinating it for an hour didn't happen. In my opinion, it didn't need it. It was pretty much gone in an hour anyway! Very good. Will be a staple at all bar-b-ques from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
WOW! What a big hit! At my dinner club, this was the recipe that the guests wanted to take home with them. I kicked it up a little with more jalapeno and garlic but other than that this recipe is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Made several times. Great in the summer for a bbq. Many liked it, some did not. Must be a fan a of beans. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This always goes fast. I omitted the green bell pepper and coriander and added a can of whole kernal corn to the mix. I have used dried cilantro instead of fresh and it is pretty darn good as well. It is really a tasty and refreshing dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This makes a LOT of dip! Make sure it is a big party! It was really good though. We had to take it to our New Year's Eve party in the trunk though because the smell will knock you over. I think a little bit of lime juice would add something. I didn't use the coriander either and I don't think we missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States