Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is always a hit. Very colorful and flavor is great. I always make it at least 6 hours ahead. A tip if you have leftovers: I used it in soup. Add bean dip to following ingredients: 1 can chicken broth, 1 can of tomato soup, 1 cup salsa, 2 cups chopped chicken, chili powder, cumin. Simmer for 30 minutes and you have a delicious chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was a huge hit with the group! Everyone loved the chunky, fresh taste and texture! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Adding coriander and fresh cilantro is like adding garlic powder and fresh garlic. Try cumin instead for a smokey falvor..the fresh cilantro is awesome. Add a squeeze of 1/2 a lime and can of corn for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I just got another request to prepare this recipe for a party and realized I hadn't reviewed it! Delicious! Make it ahead and it just gets better. Great with Fr*to Scoops so you can get a huge mouthful with each scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So delicious I can't stop eating it. It can be served on top of grilled chicken and is tasty that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I served this as a dip with baked corn chips on Thanksgiving and people seemed to really like it. I substituted one can of mexicorn for the black eyed peas and used a little less dressing than called for. I also seeded one of the jalapenos which made it just spicy enough for my family. I made this the night before and let it sit overnight in the fridge, which I felt helped the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I just made this for a party and got raves reviews. I skipped the coriander and bell pepper, I took another reviewer's advice and used a small can of petite canned tomatoes. I only added about 2-3 oz of zesty Italian salad dressing and added the juice of one very juicy lime. I was sure to drain and rinse the beans before I used them so they were not too sticky. This one is a keeper for sure -easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I did make a lot of additions to my version of this recipe, but the base was fantastic and the proportions were perfect for spicy-ness. I wanted to make a main dish out of it, so I added tinned tuna, which was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added an extra jalapeno, and used half a bunch of cilantro. I think next time I will also use maybe only 4 ounces of dressing, and add more if needed, it is hard to take away! Also, I used leftovers on top of spinach for a yummy salad for lunch or dinner!, (addition: two days later, I mixed what was left with some quinoa (or you could use orzo, or small pasta), and made a pasta salad with it....we ate every last bite of this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We had this at a graduation party, it was awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States