Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! I did not have cherry tomatoes so i used chopped roma tomatoes. I used pickled sliced jalopenos chopped. added xtra regular onion and a can of drained corn. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I would change only one thing in this great recipe... Serve with plenty of cold BEER! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Schultz Sievert

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We made this for Thanksgiving and I'm getting ready to make it again for our family's Christmas gathering...that's how good it was! Everyone loves it. Most of us tend to like our food less spicy, so I used 1 jalapeno with the seeds removed, very finely chopped. I also made sure the onions were chopped fairly finely. I added 1C of frozen corn, warmed up in the microwave, but not overcooked...it was still nice and firm. I used a bit more than 3/4 of the bottle of zesty Italian, since a full bottle seemed a bit too much. My husband doesn't care for bell peppers or tomatoes, so I also made half of the batch without either of them. That can ruin a lot of recipes, but not this one. He gave it 5 stars as modified. We were in the mood for experimenting, so I made another batch of the other texas caviar recipe where you make your own dressing. Our diverse bunch (from a 2 year old to teenagers to grandparents) enjoyed both versions, but preferred this version. We made the texas caviars the night before...about 24 hours ahead of time (with the cilantro mixed in) and thought it just got better and better as the flavors melded. It's really nice to be able to make it ahead of time. YUM! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Always a hit anywhere that I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent pot luck or picnic dish. I substituted olive oil and balsamic vinegar for the bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Everyone loved it! Tangy and perfect. Don't skimp on the fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I love this recipe. I used canned black eyes peas and frozen corn (I did not have any canned corn). I did cook the corn for approx 3 minutes then rinsed with cold water before adding to peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very good - salsa-like but different. I used frozen black eyed peas as I though canned may be mushy. Also put the cilantro in the food processor to make sure it was thoroughly chopped - much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great recipe, I made it for a get together with some friends for the first time and everyone loved it! definitely will make it again! taste sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reem Chavez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is going to be a summer dish hit! I just made this pretty much as instructed but I omitted one jalapeno and added a can of baby white/yellow corn. Yum, yum, yum! I wanted to let it sit overnight so I can serve at a function tomorrow, but my husband, my oldest son and me kept eating it as soon as it was made. I know it will be even tastier tomorrow after the flavors marry. I can't wait to take this to upcoming summer outings. Maybe I should take copies of the recipe....just in case. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States