Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very good - salsa-like but different. I used frozen black eyed peas as I though canned may be mushy. Also put the cilantro in the food processor to make sure it was thoroughly chopped - much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great recipe, I made it for a get together with some friends for the first time and everyone loved it! definitely will make it again! taste sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is going to be a summer dish hit! I just made this pretty much as instructed but I omitted one jalapeno and added a can of baby white/yellow corn. Yum, yum, yum! I wanted to let it sit overnight so I can serve at a function tomorrow, but my husband, my oldest son and me kept eating it as soon as it was made. I know it will be even tastier tomorrow after the flavors marry. I can't wait to take this to upcoming summer outings. Maybe I should take copies of the recipe....just in case. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Everyone except my daughter really enjoyed this (she's just going through one of those phases where she doesn't want to try anything "different"). I couldn't find cherry tomatoes, so I bought grape tomatoes instead. I didn't use all of the tomatoes because I'm not fond of uncooked tomatoes. But after it sat for a day, the tomatoes really mellowed out, and it might have been okay. And I skipped the cilantro, because no one in our house likes it. I will be making this again today. This time I'll be using cherry tomatoes. :-) Thanks for the recipe -- what an easy and tasty way to feed my husband his black-eyed peas! **May 4, 2010 UPDATE!** Some of the moms were putting together snacks for the teachers' lounge (it's teacher appreciation week). I took a double batch of the Texas Caviar and a couple bags of tortilla chips. My daughter's teacher and one of the librarians both e-mailed me before noon asking for the recipe, and I was stopped by two more teachers this morning . . . again asking for the recipe. And I was worried that no one would like it! They said it didn't last long at all. Thanks again for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fabulous recipe! We eat a lot of salsas and dips in my house and this is a delicious, healthy dip we don't have to feel guilty about indulging in! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is always a hit. Very colorful and flavor is great. I always make it at least 6 hours ahead. A tip if you have leftovers: I used it in soup. Add bean dip to following ingredients: 1 can chicken broth, 1 can of tomato soup, 1 cup salsa, 2 cups chopped chicken, chili powder, cumin. Simmer for 30 minutes and you have a delicious chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was a huge hit with the group! Everyone loved the chunky, fresh taste and texture! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Adding coriander and fresh cilantro is like adding garlic powder and fresh garlic. Try cumin instead for a smokey falvor..the fresh cilantro is awesome. Add a squeeze of 1/2 a lime and can of corn for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I just got another request to prepare this recipe for a party and realized I hadn't reviewed it! Delicious! Make it ahead and it just gets better. Great with Fr*to Scoops so you can get a huge mouthful with each scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So delicious I can't stop eating it. It can be served on top of grilled chicken and is tasty that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States