Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was fantastic!!! I will make this in place of salsa, and it is great for a side dish. My picky son tried it before I could let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours and he couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very good. Had to make a couple changes based on what I had available. I used about 1/2 cup of dressing and that was plenty strong. I also used pinto and black beans, and added some corn. Excellent as a dip and we heated the leftovers and put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good except for the fact that I sent DH to the store for the cilantro and he came home with mint! He also told me the "cilantro" cost 3.99 (which it didn't). I'd love to try this with the cilantro next time! I didn't use the mint! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I could eat my way to the moon with this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I took this to a potluck & everyone loved it. I only had 2 cans of black beans with jalapeno bits so I skipped the jalapenos. Seemed like too much onion with green onions & regular onions so I just used the green. I made my own Italian Dressing using the Italian Dressing Mix recipe on here. Skipped the coriander. Added an avacado, Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I can't stop eating this! I didn't put in raw garlic or onion. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Both visually appealing and also very tasty! Our vegan friends were appreciative of a great option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this for Christmas with tortilla chips. It was a hit. My sister and sister-in-law both asked for the recipe. I did change a few things. I did not add as much onion as it called for - personal preferrence. I did not put in the jalapenos this time but am sure it would be great with them in.I added a diced avocado which added to the wonderful flavors of the dish. I used our local grocery store's brand of LIGHT Zesty Italian. Be sure to allow time for flavors to blend at least 2 hours, it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I served this on a platter in Tosititos 'Scoop' chips on New Year's Day, along w/champagne and a plate of water crackers, cream cheese & caviar. It was great! I then some more for a friend who had just moved into her new house (last weekend), and I also plan to serve it tomorrow at a book club (eve of MLK Jr. holiday) - all for good luck. My friends & I should hopefully have lots of prosperity this year.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delish!!!! I added a can of whole kernel corn! Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States